Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 560
Devil Darling Spy
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the Nazi regime. No one knows the truth, that she's in fact Jewish. The man she works for tells her that there's a mission in Central Africa where a rumored doctor is working on a chemical that might cause mass destruction. Sarah is quick to sign on. Only once there the real horrors of what might happen if the wrong people get the chemicals show up.

What worked: I love this spy series set in WWII. In the first book in the series, readers are introduced to Sarah. Now in this book she goes on a trip into Central Africa on a search for an elusive doctor who might be developing a germ warfare called 'the Bleeding' to use against enemies of Hitler. The details of the trip and what she encounters are vivid and horrific. The scenes where this beautiful doctor injects African citizens is chilling. She and her stepfather consider the African citizens 'throw away' people. With the injections, a plague wipes out whole villages. Sarah sees the absolute worse of people and this pushes her to the very limits of who she can trust and if the cause she's fighting for is worth it.

At first Sarah comes across as naive over what she witnesses and then quickly turns cynical. Readers see the seedy part of what some went through during this time period which includes the aftermath of colonization in Africa. Racist and hatred is rampant. Also Sarah isn't sure who to trust.


Gripping, engaging espionage novel where a young spy finds herself fighting against time to stop a scientist from unleashing a horrific germ warfare against enemies of the Nazi regime.
Good Points
1. Captivating, thrilling tale of a young girl who goes on a mission in Congo to stop rumored chemical warfare during WWII
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Light of Day
 
4.7
"A companion novel to Van Diepen's ON THE EDGE, this contemporary romance and mystery novel is told from the point..."
On the Edge
 
3.0
"It all started when Maddie Diaz took a shortcut through the park, something that should have had her home safe..."
On the Edge
 
4.3
" A well-written urban romance with strong world-building and unique characters, ON THE EDGE is a refreshing addition to the..."
Caged Warrior
 
4.7
"CAGED WARRIOR takes the reader to places they had no idea they could even go between the pages of a..."
Revenge of a Not-So-Pretty Girl
 
4.0
"What I Loved: The strengths of this book are the realistic setting and the nuanced relationships between family members...."
Social Suicide (Deadly Cool #2)
 
3.0
"I'm a sucker for mystery solving, sleuthing teenagers. No matter how unrealistic the circumstances are, I love to read about..."
Darius & Twig
 
4.0
"It is so easy for us to get stuck inside our personal little bubbles. I rarely ever escape outside of..."
Deadly Cool (Deadly Cool #1)
 
5.0
"For this review, I'm going to turn up a bit of my gushing girlishness for a while. Deadly Cool..."