Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 853
Seven Deadly Shadows
(Updated: February 14, 2020)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only the dead, but supernatural beings. When her beloved grandfather is killed, it's up to her to stop an ancient demon from destroying not only her family, but the world.

What worked: This is a fast-paced engaging paranormal that has a twist on the Seven Samurari with a teen girl as a reluctant heroine. Scattered throughout are Japanese mythological demons and gods. Since I'm not familiar with Japanese mythology, I was happy there was a glossary at the end.

The action is riveting from when Kira goes from being a shy Japanese schoolgirl to one that steps up to the challenge of stopping a demon. Kira shows her love of being a shrine priestess even though her own mother turned away from that calling. There's also scenes of bullying, where Kira is tormented for being an outcast at her prestigious Japanese school.

The references of kitsunes in Seven Deadly Shadows remind me of Kira Yukimura in Teen Wolf who was a Thunder kitsune-a fox yokai shapeshifter. Only in this novel, Kira is a priestess of a Shinto shrine, but does have a task of saving the world.

There's also a hint of romance between her and kitsune Shiro, who she's not sure of at first. From Shiro she learns more about her responsibilities and yes, even whether or not to trust a supernatural being. Shiro is cute, charming and it's hard not to like him.

There are many mythological creatures in this story-shinigami-Japanese version of grim reapers who reap the souls of the living. Yokai-supernatural monsters, ghosts, spirits, and demons.Jorogumo-a half-woman, half spider yokai. And of course, my favorite, nekomata-a cat yokai.

There's also hints of Sailor Moon references and lush descriptions of Kyoto and Toyoko shrines. I did Google the places to help me visualize where Kira goes to on her quest to stop a demon.

Engaging fantasy with a twist on the Seven Samurai and filled with many Japanese supernatural beings.
Good Points
Modern Day retelling of Seven Samurari set in Japan
Japanese mythology throughout
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...

Latest Member Reviews

Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
Like Best Friends
 
4.0
"LIKE BEST FRIENDS is a great picture book to teach about similes. The plot is fairly simple. A boy is..."
Paper Planes
 
4.0
"PAPER PLANES is a sweet picture book about evolving friendships when friends must move away. Mia and Ben are best..."
Good Guys, Bad Guys
 
3.5
"GOOD GUYS, BAD GUYS features children at play and divides them throughout by their actions and roles. The good guys..."
Rad!
 
3.5
"RAD! is a simple but colorful book about trying new things. The book follows five cats, Esther, Chester, Lester, Hester,..."