Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 389
"You Coming?"
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke.

Long Way Down, is a knife that cut to the deepest, blackest part of me, and yelled at me to see it. Just see me, and I did.

Long Way Down, could've been fiction--it read so realistically. I was scrambling to get through the pages, fast enough to finish, yet slow enough to savor, and devour it.

Back Story: Our MC's brother was just killed. And he's set on living by the street code: Someone kills someone you love--you take revenge--and set it right.

That's where the story really takes off, on his long way down. He's in an elevator, a gun in his pants--and vengeance on his mind.

Told in verse (which is my favorite by the way), this story packs a powerful punch--clear, concise and sharply worded. I literally couldn't stop, stopping--after every single punch to the throat, which is what many of these pages were. Punches, wake up calls--look at me.

Punches of realism, heartbreak, reality, street code, blackness.

I am blown away.

I can't even tell you all how it all happens, because it would give the story away. I won't lie, I want to so badly, if not just to tell you the story--but also to help you understand it. I know, like I'm some expert on this work!

But, let me tell you, the world needs books like these. Books unafraid--unafraid to tell the raw, gritty truth--in all its fictional glory.

Don't sleep on this. Don't do that to yourself. You will not be disappointed.


You'll want to take this journey, it'll be a fast one but it's a doozy--in the best way possible.

Powerful, poignant, purposeful prose, poetic.

One question, "You coming?" I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke.

Long Way Down, is a knife that cut to the deepest, blackest part of me, and yelled at me to see it. Just see me, and I did.

Long Way Down, could've been fiction--it read so realistically. I was scrambling to get through the pages, fast enough to finish, yet slow enough to savor, and devour it.

Back Story: Our MC's brother was just killed. And he's set on living by the street code: Someone kills someone you love--you take revenge--and set it right.

That's where the story really takes off, on his long way down. He's in an elevator, a gun in his pants--and vengeance on his mind.

Told in verse (which is my favorite by the way), this story packs a powerful punch--clear, concise and sharply worded. I literally couldn't stop, stopping--after every single punch to the throat, which is what many of these pages were. Punches, wake up calls--look at me.

Punches of realism, heartbreak, reality, street code, blackness.

I am blown away.

I can't even tell you all how it all happens, because it would give the story away. I won't lie, I want to so badly, if not just to tell you the story--but also to help you understand it. I know, like I'm some expert on this work!

But, let me tell you, the world needs books like these. Books unafraid--unafraid to tell the raw, gritty truth--in all its fictional glory.

Don't sleep on this. Don't do that to yourself. You will not be disappointed.


You'll want to take this journey, it'll be a fast one but it's a doozy--in the best way possible.

Powerful, poignant, purposeful prose, poetic.

One question, "You coming?"
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… ...
Moonscript
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes...
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A captivating and utterly original fairy tale about a girl...
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They have a love-hate relationship with summer. ...
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this epic sequel to Once & Future, to save...
11004295_10203571569113600_1962266189_n.jpg
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
*****Best YA Book & Author of the Year***** The...
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Being a part of the resistance group La Voz...
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
12-year-old Julia keeps a diary about her life growing...
Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more...
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Violet Choudhury may be part of the popular clique...
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this electrifying YA sequel to Beware the Night,...
Something New
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cassie Briggs never thought she’d be married at age sixteen—especially...
Crave
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
My whole world changed when I stepped inside the academy....
I Love You, Daddy (Peter Rabbit)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable rhyming Peter Rabbit book that celebrates dads everywhere....
Morning, Sunshine!
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
As we all wake up, the outside world bustles with...

Latest Member Reviews

A Touch of Scarlet (Unbound #2)
 
4.0
"Eve Marie Mont does not disappoint! A Touch of Scarlet is not a retelling of Nathaniel Hawthorne's The Scarlet..."
Amor and Summer Secrets (Amor and Summer Secrets #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by the book muncher Its the summer after her first year in high school, and all Mariana Ruíz..."
Amigas and School Scandals (Amor and Summer Secrets #2)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by the book muncher Mariana Ruíz is finally back from her Puerto Rican exile/vacation, but although its good..."
Amor and Summer Secrets (Amor and Summer Secrets #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by John Stein Amor and Summer Secrets is a compelling, heartfelt story of self-discovery told through the eyes..."
Gamma Glamma
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Holly This book is awesome. It starts out a little slow, but it's great! Luz has..."