Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 446
captivating and thrilling YA fantasy
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl who was sold onto a debt collector's ship, where she must work to pay off her family's debt. Amaya has put her memories into the back of her mind, while she toils under the cruel hand of Captain Zharo, who has named each child after a bug and treats them as such. If they survive to pay off their debt, a difficult feat, they may return to their families at that time. Silverfish is close to the end.

As she reaches the end, her humanity begins to return, and so she rescues a man who was drowning that the captain had told them to let die. This sets off a series of events that leads to Amaya seeking revenge on the people who destroyed her family and her own life. As Amaya infiltrates the city she once called home, she learns of far bigger and more dangerous games which are being played with people's lives.

The book is written from her and Cayo's point-of-view. Cayo is a wealthy son of a merchant, Mercado, and Amaya's target. Cayo has recovered from a gambling addiction and is worried over his sister, who is dying from Ash fever. He would do anything to protect her, including squandering his family name and marrying someone he detests. He finds himself intrigued by the mysterious new countess.

This is a book of trust and revenge, with many lessons about each within. The plot is woven so beautifully that I could not find any flaws. The writing is captivating and sweeps the reader away into this engaging other world of piracy, sword fights, and danger. I adored Amaya, and I love her passion and confidence. She is a fantastic character, full of love for the other children who surround her. I cannot wait for the sequel to this captivating read.

Highly recommend for people who love YA fantasy and high seas adventure. This is a new series that does not disappoint.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

Solo
 
5.0
"Told entirely in verse, Solo is a story full of love, loss, addiction and music. Like Kwame Alexander's previous books,..."
Caged Warrior
 
4.7
"CAGED WARRIOR takes the reader to places they had no idea they could even go between the pages of a..."