Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 674
Intriguing Coming of Age Tale
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
What I loved:

The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with time skips in between. Hattrup did a brilliant job of revealing the characters through these events without info dumping or skimping out on development. Every bit of angst and adolescent awkwardness was captured to a tee, making the reader alternately cringe and laugh and cry throughout the reading.
The writing was engaging, and sticking to important events left no room for lagging so this is a book a person could easily stay up all night to finish without even realizing the hours are ticking by.

Where I Wanted More:

Though I suspect the lack of resolution was an intentional, telling aspect of life and relationships in late teen years, it did lend itself to a degree of dissatisfaction. Things that might have been important appear markedly less so in the light of the ending.

The Bottom Line:

Our Year and Love in Parties is a poignant, relatable coming-of-age tale that is sure to appeal to fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Charlie's Song
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Iryna Charlie is a would-be singing star whose mixed up family keeps standing in her way. Shes..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Iryna For a smart girl, Emily is planning to do something really stupid . . . Shes..."
Daredevils
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Iryna Lizzie loves playing hockey, despite being stuck on a boys team with teammates who treat her..."