Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 993
Intriguing Coming of Age Tale
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
What I loved:

The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with time skips in between. Hattrup did a brilliant job of revealing the characters through these events without info dumping or skimping out on development. Every bit of angst and adolescent awkwardness was captured to a tee, making the reader alternately cringe and laugh and cry throughout the reading.
The writing was engaging, and sticking to important events left no room for lagging so this is a book a person could easily stay up all night to finish without even realizing the hours are ticking by.

Where I Wanted More:

Though I suspect the lack of resolution was an intentional, telling aspect of life and relationships in late teen years, it did lend itself to a degree of dissatisfaction. Things that might have been important appear markedly less so in the light of the ending.

The Bottom Line:

Our Year and Love in Parties is a poignant, relatable coming-of-age tale that is sure to appeal to fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bluebird
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic...
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey through a magical woodland, with poems to read and...
Bunny Will Not Jump!: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the endless imagination of Jason Tharp comes a hilarious...
Milo's Christmas Parade
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new picture book from Jennie Palmer starring Milo, a...
Slow Down: 50 Mindful Moments in Nature
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Slow down to watch 50 nature stories that command calm...
Once Upon A Pizza: Eight Crazy Ways Pizza Wasn't Really Invented, And One It Might Have Been
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone loves pizza, but how was it invented? ...
A Kid's Guide to Fandom: Exploring Fan-Fic, Cosplay, Gaming, Podcasting, and More in the Geek World!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Help young fans get in touch with their inner geeks...
Awaken    Book 1 The A'vean Chronicles
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
SOME PEOPLE AREN'T DESTINED TO BE ORDINARY. With a...
Pipsqueaks, Slowpokes, and Stinkers: Celebrating Animal Underdogs
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Underdogs, unite! Celebrated nonfiction author Melissa Stewart offers young readers...
Beneath the Waves
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Open this charming read-aloud book and you'll find amazing animal...
Small Favors
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ellerie Downing is waiting for something to happen. Life in...
Fearghus Academy: October Jewels
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
London, 1864. Fifteen year-old Anna Addison finds herself held at...
Chasing Fireflies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everything happens for a reason. ...
Mine
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A twisty, terrifying ghost story about twelve-year-old Lily, her creepy...
Gold Spun
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
If Nor can't spin gold, she can always spin lies....

Latest Member Reviews

Deadfall (Blackbird #2)
 
4.3
"This sequel to Blackbird picks up right where the first left off and doesn’t let readers go until the very..."