Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1410
delightful contemporary YA romance
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED is a charming YA contemporary romance that follows Ollie. Ollie had lived in California, until this year when his parents and he went to North Carolina for the summer to help out his aunt, who has terminal cancer. When she is not getting better, they end up deciding to stay for his senior year in North Carolina. Although Ollie is concerned, he is more worried about his aunt, and he wants to be able to help.

As an added perk, the boy he fell in love with over the summer, Will, lives in North Carolina. However, since their last night together- which Ollie thought was completely unforgettable- Will has been ghosting him. Ollie can take the hint, but he's still pretty hurt about it. When he sees Will at his new school, he is once again hurt by Will's dismissal.

What follows is a journey of familial and romantic love that is challenged by circumstance. Will is very much in the closet and worried about what his parents and friends will think. Compared to Grease, it is easy to see the parallels, but this book reaches far deeper than the movie did and gives a much better couple and romance.

What I loved: The book moves quickly, and my favorite parts were about Ollie and how his family comes together to deal with cancer. It was raw, moving, and beautiful, showing both the grief and love. There are also some great side themes about self-confidence, owning who you are (such as Niamh, who will be a gorgeous model- plus-sized), and finding the people who get you (in Ollie's case, musicians). While there are some tough moments about Will and his cold-and-hot reactions, this also felt really believable to me for a teen who is not ready to come out, and I think this will speak to some really well.

While I was reading the book, the Grease parallels were not overwhelming or hitting you over the head- they were subtle, and it made for an even better story.

Final verdict: Heartfelt and charming, ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED is a touching and delightful YA contemporary romance. Highly recommend for fans of Nicola Yoon, SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA, and SICK KIDS IN LOVE.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Light of Day
 
4.7
"A companion novel to Van Diepen's ON THE EDGE, this contemporary romance and mystery novel is told from the point..."
On the Edge
 
3.0
"It all started when Maddie Diaz took a shortcut through the park, something that should have had her home safe..."
On the Edge
 
4.3
" A well-written urban romance with strong world-building and unique characters, ON THE EDGE is a refreshing addition to the..."
Caged Warrior
 
4.7
"CAGED WARRIOR takes the reader to places they had no idea they could even go between the pages of a..."
Revenge of a Not-So-Pretty Girl
 
4.0
"What I Loved: The strengths of this book are the realistic setting and the nuanced relationships between family members...."
Social Suicide (Deadly Cool #2)
 
3.0
"I'm a sucker for mystery solving, sleuthing teenagers. No matter how unrealistic the circumstances are, I love to read about..."
Darius & Twig
 
4.0
"It is so easy for us to get stuck inside our personal little bubbles. I rarely ever escape outside of..."
Deadly Cool (Deadly Cool #1)
 
5.0
"For this review, I'm going to turn up a bit of my gushing girlishness for a while. Deadly Cool..."