Review Detail

Lucky Caller Featured
Young Adult Fiction 973
charming and funny with plenty of heart
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
LUCKY CALLER was a lovely, light-hearted read with just the perfect amount of heart. Nina lives with her mother and two sisters, Rose and Sidney. Her father lives across the country, where he often seems a little too busy to spend time with his daughters. Nina's life and heart is full with her sisters and her mother though.

Nina is entering the final semester of her senior year of high school. Her mother has just gotten engaged to the "Dantist," Dan, who is a dentist. He's a truly amazing guy, but of course, the sisters have a lot of feelings about this. Regardless, they handle them all with aplomb.

The focus of the book is on the radio broadcasting class Nina is taking with her neighbor and former big-time crush, Jamie. They had a falling out when they were in middle school, but now that Jamie is in her class- and in her broadcasting group- Nina can't ignore all the feelings that crop up. At the same time, their group is finding their way through this project, while trying to maintain their integrity. However, the project, and their radio show, takes off in a way they never expected.

This book was an absolutely lovely read about sisterly love, familial support, and the people who matter in life. It manages to be completely heartfelt and funny at the same time. The book ends up being pretty light-hearted while still presenting a deep and gorgeous plotline. I also have to say that I absolutely adored the way this all ended.

The sisterly love really stole the show here, and I absolutely adored Rose, Sidney, and Nina, their love for each other, and the way they all completely leap off the page as three-dimensional characters. I totally wish I knew them in real life.

Highly recommend this read for fans of YA contemporary fiction with romance, comedy, and bucketloads of charm.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found