Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 797
completely engrossing and captivating read
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Told from the perspective of a girl who was captured and escaped, JANE ANONYMOUS is a thriller of both physical and emotional survival. "Jane" is writing the book as a method for healing, as writing is how she copes, and she takes us back and forth between then (during the capture) and now, as she is trying to deal with her life and the way that she feels (described as being in pieces).

This book is completely captivating and engrossing, and even though it was pretty easy to guess who was behind it all, the journey is breath-taking. This is very much a thriller with plenty of suspense, but it also features a large emotional journey that is on the path of healing. It is difficult to put into words how much this is a page-turner, but highly recommend for fans of Caroline B. Cooney, SADIE, and other YA thriller masterpieces.

I completely devoured this book in less than a day because it was impossible to put down. This book is something different and an atmospheric page-turner. While I don't want to give anything away, I certainly recommend picking this one up. Also, if you are concerned about cliffhangers, the main plots are resolved herein. I also want to give bonus points for showing the process of selecting a therapist and finding your own journey to be ready for therapy. This is quite a potent read.

Fans of thriller/suspense YA reads, you will need to add this to your TBR.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black...
All the Tides of Fate (All the Stars and Teeth, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The thrilling sequel to instant New York Times bestseller All...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera Cass....
Born Royal
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
Imprisoned and experimented on since she was twelve, Princess...
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Half-human thief Neva Roberts, 17, has always hidden her...
I'll Be the One (I'll Be the One #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world of K-Pop has never met a star...
The Dog Patrol: Our Canine Companions and the Kids Who Protect Them
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a full-color dog book unlike any other, acclaimed children’s...
Unchosen
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Katharyn Blair crafts a fiercely feminist fantasy with a...
Watch Over Me
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Mila is used to being alone. Maybe that’s why...
The Safekeeper
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her job is to keep their secrets safe. ...
City of the Plague God
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents CITY OF THE PLAGUE GOD,...
The Shadow War
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and thrilling...
The Valley and the Flood
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rose Colter is almost home, but she can't go back...
Don't Tell A Soul
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stay up all night with this modern day Rebecca! Perfect...
58 Farm End
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
58 Farm End: a twisted romantic crime thriller series (Book...
The Connection
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Beatrice Walker thought she lived in a normal world—that is...

Latest Member Reviews

All the Tides of Fate (All the Stars and Teeth, #2)
 
5.0
"ALL THE TIDES OF FATE picks up Amora's story a season or two after the previous book ended. She is..."
Watch Over Me
 
4.7
"Eighteen-year-old Mila has just graduated from high school and aged out of the foster care program. So when a job..."
American Royals II: Majesty
 
3.7
"With her father gone, Beatrice must step into her role as queen. To do this, she has to let her..."
Mary: The Adventures of Mary Shelley's Great-Great-Great-Great-Great-Granddaughter
 
4.0
"Teen Mary Shelley is the many times great granddaughter of the legendary writer. Everyone in the Shelley lineage has become..."
The Obsession
 
4.7
"THE OBSESSION is a creepy and riveting YA thriller. Delilah lives with her mother and her mother's abusive boyfriend, a..."
The Project
 
4.3
"Lo Denham, magazine assistant and loner, is looking for her sister, Bea. Six years ago, Lo's parents died in a..."
The Night Circus
 
4.3
"I couldn’t begin to express how much I adore this book. This book, magically, soothed my temper and let me..."
Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
 
4.7
"WINGS OF EBONY is a beautifully crafted YA fantasy. A year has passed since Rue's life was irrevocably changed. Her..."
The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1)
 
4.3
"THE GILDED ONES by Namina Forna is a YA fantasy novel and the first book in the Deathless series. The..."
Unchosen
 
5.0
"UNCHOSEN is a fantastic and completely captivating YA apocalyptic fantasy, filled with feminism, friendship, sisterhood, and romance. Charlotte is the..."
In the Penalty Box
 
4.0
"IN THE PENALTY BOX is a cute YA contemporary hockey romance. Willow is a figure skater heading for the Olympics,..."
The Afterlife of the Party (Afterlife, #1)
 
4.7
"THE AFTERLIFE OF THE PARTY is a YA vampire book for anyone who doesn't want to make out with the..."