Review Detail

Tweet Cute Featured
Young Adult Fiction 2130
adorable and engaging YA contemporary romance
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
TWEET CUTE is a fun enemies-to-dating and anonymous-You've-Got-Mail style YA contemporary romance. The book follows the two protagonists in equal parts, flipping between Pepper and Jack, who go to the same preppy private high school in NYC. Pepper lives with her mother, who she followed after the divorce. Pepper's parents started a restaurant, Big League Burger, together, which has exploded with franchises around the country and world. Her father stayed behind with the original, while her mother has spearheaded the corporate charges. Pepper is also a star student who spends a lot of time on her work and planning for college.

Pepper's mother can be a bit much, and she has decided that the twitter account for BLB should be sassy. However, her social media manager is not good at being sarcastic or witty. Instead, she forces Pepper to step in and help. When a small family-operated business in NYC accuses BLB of stealing their grilled cheese recipe and tweets it to them, Pepper enters a twitter war that she never really wanted any part of.

Jack works for his family's restaurant, Girl Cheesing, which he knows he is likely to take over someday. His twin does not seem to have the same sentiment, and Jack feels that Ethan is destined for greatness. Jack dreams of something bigger. However, when he sees someone has stolen Grandma Belly's grilled cheese recipe, he knows he can't stand idly by, and he enters the twitter battleground.

Weazel, an anonymous app where students from the high school (requires a valid email) can join and be assigned an animal name at random. They can then chat in the main forum or go into individual chats. If they go into individual chats, the app will expose them at some random time (a la Pop Goes the Weasel). Pepper is Bluebird, and she has been chatting with Wolf, but for some reason, the app hasn't exposed them yet.

With every bit as adorable as it sounds plot twists and high school drama/romance, this was an absolutely delightful read. Pepper and Jack are fully formed characters with fully formed families, who I also became attached to. The character development here is fantastic. I also loved hearing about their restaurants and delicious creations (seriously, this book made me so hungry).

Would highly recommend for anyone looking for an adorable, clean contemporary YA romance with all sorts of cute moments and lots of delicious treats. Even aside from the twitter battle and all the lovely ways in which the two interact in real life, there is a lot of substance about dealing with families, deciding what you want for your own future outside of your parents, and reaching for your goals. This is a valuable read for this audience for those reasons, and is also pretty inspiring.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...

Latest Member Reviews

Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
Like Best Friends
 
4.0
"LIKE BEST FRIENDS is a great picture book to teach about similes. The plot is fairly simple. A boy is..."
Paper Planes
 
4.0
"PAPER PLANES is a sweet picture book about evolving friendships when friends must move away. Mia and Ben are best..."
Good Guys, Bad Guys
 
3.5
"GOOD GUYS, BAD GUYS features children at play and divides them throughout by their actions and roles. The good guys..."
Rad!
 
3.5
"RAD! is a simple but colorful book about trying new things. The book follows five cats, Esther, Chester, Lester, Hester,..."