Review Detail

Compelling and engrossing YA sci-fi
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE LIGHT AT THE BOTTOM OF THE WORLD is a compelling and atmospheric YA fantasy/science fiction. In the future, the world has been completely flooded, the surface rendered unlivable and humanity lives under the water in pods with submersibles. Seasickness, a form of depression, has taken hold and is a very big problem. People also face terrorism threats by anthropoids, humanoid creatures that can breathe underwater and were created by people to help them adjust but ultimately are at war with people instead.

Leyla is 16, and her father has been arrested under the guise that he was helping people with seasickness to take their own lives, a big crime. However, Leyla knows this is unfounded, but she cannot get through to the proper authorities or a lawyer who will take the case or even find out where her father is being held. When she is lucky enough to gain entry into the London Marathon, a dangerous submarine race, she knows she must win- especially since the prize is a request of the prime minister which will be granted, and Leyla knows this is her chance to request her father's freedom.

After the race, Leyla's life is again changing, and the truths she thought she knew are murky at best. In her quest, she not only begins to question herself but the life that the government has built and the value of truth.

What I loved: This is a book about family, truth/lies, and the lengths one will go to to help the ones you love. Leyla is tenacious, courageous, and absolutely fantastic as a heroine. I loved following her journey in this book. I also adored Ari, who we slowly get to know through the book.

The world-building here is top notch, and I really felt like I could imagine this future and the people in it. I seriously wish I could have Leyla's submarine (it's incredible!). This is a book that easily sucks you in and keeps you turning pages quickly to the end.

What left me wanting more: The only thing is that there is a cliffhanger at the end! I wish there was more, and I will be eagerly anticipating the next book in the series.

Final verdict: Engrossing, compelling, and fantastically built, THE LIGHT AT THE BOTTOM OF THE WORLD is a book that raises interesting questions all while entertaining the reader completely. Highly recommend for fans of YA fantasy/dystopian/sci-fi. This book does not disappoint with incredible characters and beautiful world-building.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...

Latest Member Reviews

Alexander the Great: Son of the Gods
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Mairi This book (which, by the way, is by Alan Fildes) tells the story of Alexander the..."