Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1265
contemporary fiction with a thriller at the end
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
SCARED LITTLE RABBITS follows Nora (aka Eleanor, Lowercase) as she sets out on a summer camp adventure that resulted in a missing person, as we know from the beginning of the book. We then backtrack to the start of the camp to meet the characters and find out what happened.

Nora loves programming and so is very excited to be accepted into and attending the camp, which previously hosted Emerson and resulted in the creation of InstaLove, a game which combines instagram and pokemon go into an interactive game where you score points for being social with other people. Nora is pretty intimidated by the others attending, especially since it seems like they have all been there before and she is the only new one.

She immediately crushes on Maddox, whom she accidentally runs into, but it seems like he is in a relationship with Eleanor, who everyone says is the uppercase Eleanor and so they nickname her Lowercase as a result. However, Eleanor and Maddox's relationship is complex, considering the ways their families are connected and how often they fight. They break up, but then Eleanor says he has to continue to look like her boyfriend until the Maker Fair, an event which ends the camp where the inventions are examined and one is given a monetary prize.

The other main character is Reese, who basically forces everyone to beta test the changes she is making to InstaLove by wearing augmented reality glasses all the time. The book is primarily about Nora navigating the social situations with a small amount of thriller/mystery at the end when the what and then where and who are revealed.

I found the book a little difficult to push myself through, perhaps due to all the focus on Nora being awkward. The plot seemed to drag a bit due to that. I actually really enjoyed the ending sections, so I wish those had been scattered throughout to up the ante and take us back and forth with the thriller and day-to-day. I did like that we got some of Eleanor's perspective, but it would have been better to have it add a little more to the plot, it just seemed more like rambling (which is probably because it was basically her diary).

In terms of the romance, it felt very instalove (not the app) where they are immediately so into each other without really getting to know each other. The story is told from Maddox and Nora's perspectives so the reader learns about each of them, but they do not have many heart-to-hearts, if any. I prefer to have the relationship built on more of that generally, and I had a hard time really seeing it/cheering for it.

Overall, I really liked the ending, but found the lead up to not be a thrilleresque as I hoped.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...

Latest Member Reviews

Alexander the Great: Son of the Gods
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Mairi This book (which, by the way, is by Alan Fildes) tells the story of Alexander the..."