Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1245
Resistance is not Futile
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
This is the type of book I’d like to see included in school curriculums. The stories are like wide open arms: welcoming, understanding, and accepting. Each story was poignant some more than others, but they did what they set out to do.
The stories covered a wide range of people. It doesn’t cover every single marginalized group, but it does a decent job of what it covers.

What makes this anthology a standout are the subtle, yet powerful acts of resistance. Each teenager faced adversity and though they were afraid, they didn’t back down in the face of it. I think it’s important for young readers to see that their stories matter. That they have a right to stand up for themselves. They have a right to have a voice and to use it.

Some stories touched me more than others. Jason Reynolds’, ‘Shift,’ was an almost lyrical poem that will go over your head if you don’t pay close attention—but it’s meaning is powerful. Are you The Good kind of Muslim? by Samira Ahmed, it wasn’t very long, but it had a loud resonating voice. Aurora Rising by Yamile Saied Mendez, had me squinting at the pages in anger, but it has an ending that was worth waiting for. As You Were Bethany C. Morrow, was an eye-opening realistic portrayal of racism. It showed the true-to-life affects police brutality has on the psyche of black people. It doesn’t harp on black pain, but more on the right to refute the power of racism. The right to say no and to stand strong in the presence of racism. A beautiful and evocative piece of literature.

The anthology is put together well and would make a great addition to any young reader’s shelf. Highly recommended.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
Like Best Friends
 
4.0
"LIKE BEST FRIENDS is a great picture book to teach about similes. The plot is fairly simple. A boy is..."
Paper Planes
 
4.0
"PAPER PLANES is a sweet picture book about evolving friendships when friends must move away. Mia and Ben are best..."
Good Guys, Bad Guys
 
3.5
"GOOD GUYS, BAD GUYS features children at play and divides them throughout by their actions and roles. The good guys..."
Rad!
 
3.5
"RAD! is a simple but colorful book about trying new things. The book follows five cats, Esther, Chester, Lester, Hester,..."
Thesaurus Has a Secret
 
5.0
"'Thesaurus Has a Secret' by Anya Glazer is a cute story about a dinosaur named Thesaurus. He loves words, but..."
TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
 
4.0
"'TBH: Too Much Drama' by Lisa Greenwald is another one of her creative stories told in text messages, emails, and..."
Fresh Princess: Style Rules!
 
5.0
"FRESH PRINCESS: STYLE RULES! is a fun book about marking your mark. Destiny is starting at a new school, and..."
Willow the Armadillo
 
5.0
"WILLOW THE ARMADILLO is a cute picture book about reaching for your dreams and what it means to be a..."
Bad Brows
 
4.0
"BAD BROWS is a humorous picture book that follows Bernard when he wakes up for a day with brows that..."
Samuel Drew Hasn't a Clue
 
3.5
"SAMUEL DREW HASN'T A CLUE is an overall cute picture book that follows Samuel Drew as he wheels a package..."
Cactus and Flower: A Book About Life Cycles
 
3.5
"CACTUS AND FLOWER is a picture book about friendship, loss, and grief. Cactus loves flower as they spend all their..."
Quintessence
 
5.0
"QUINTESSENCE is a charming and enchanting middle grade fantasy. Alma moved to Four Points, and she has felt a little..."