Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1131
engrossing and compelling read
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Engrossing and completely thrilling, CROWN OF OBLIVION is a fantastic new YA fantasy that I highly recommend. Dealing with themes including social injustice, health care inequality, and citizenship lotteries, this book is quite the read. In a world where people are separated by their birth into Enchanteds and Outsiders (upper and lower class respectively), Astrid is an Outsider. When her mother died, she also took on some of her indentured time, which is typically twenty years (to start, time can be added for various offenses/non-offenses) during which they are subjugated and often tortured by the Enchanted class.

Astrid's indentured time has her as a Surrogate, essentially a whipping boy for the princess. Anytime the Princess Renya does anything wrong, Astrid receives her punishment, typically of whipping. Astrid's back is covered in scars because of it.

Each year, the Race of Oblivion allows one Outsider the ability to become an Enchanted citizen through a series of challenges- all while their memories have been completely removed. If you lose, you get more indentured time. However, most of the entrants lose their lives in the race. After a series of events makes her desperate, Astrid enters the race and is exposed to unexpected challenges, new insights into her world, and many life-or-death situations.

I absolutely devoured this book. It is non-stop action from start to finish, and the many twists at the end really shocked me, which I love. In terms of the world-building, I do feel like we learned enough about the society to fully grasp it. In terms of characters, I completely fell in love with Astrid- she's fierce, brave, loyal, and clever. The side characters did not all feel fully fleshed out to me. We get to know a couple pretty well, but this book is really Astrid's, and I enjoyed her perspectives.

There's also a little bit of romance, which is icing on the cake, though I found Astrid's physical and personal journey to be the most compelling parts of the book. I also will say that I loved the inclusion of Astrid's younger brother, who seems to have autism (though not named as such). I would absolutely be on board with more books featuring these characters and this world.

Compelling, engrossing, and exhilarating, CROWN OF OBLIVION is an incredible journey in a new YA fantasy world that will leave readers quickly turning pages. Highly recommend for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES, RED QUEEN, THE SCORPIO RACES, and other highly engaging YA fantasy reads.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Mall
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The year is 1991. Scrunchies, mixtapes and 90210 are, like,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Poems to Live Your Life By, Chris Riddell, political...
The Claires
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Four beautiful girls. Quadruplets. They are not identical.But each is...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo,...
What He Hides
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
She wants the truth... or does she? They say...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King,...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
"more forgetting time. more midnight dances with yourself."...
The Upside of Falling
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
It’s been years since eighteen-year-old Becca Hart believed in...
More Than His Best Friend
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
She’s got a strict rule against dating. Could her...
Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s...
The Winter Duke
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
She survived the curse. Now she must survive the throne....
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold...
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Members of the secret mermaid community have learned to trust...

Latest Member Reviews

Fancy Nancy: Nancy Clancy Seeks a Fortune
 
3.5
" Nancy Clancy Seeks a Fortune, as other Nancy Clancy books, never failed to disappoint. Not only was is fun..."
Fancy Nancy and the Missing Easter Bunny
 
5.0
"Fancy Nancy stories are among my most favorite children's books. Each Fancy Nancy story teaches a lesson to children and..."