Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 575
Eve of Man
(Updated: September 03, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
EVE OF MAN by Giovanna and Tom Fletcher is the latest in YA dystopias. In the story, a phenomenon of male-only births have occurred inexplicably for fifty years, until one day, Eve is born. As she is the only hope for perpetuating humanity, Eve is kept in a tower high above the masses. She is cared for and tended to, all in preparation for the day she will be ready to mate. Three males have been selected as matches for her based on a variety of criteria. However, when the meetings with the first two guys go horribly wrong, Eve is completely rocked. She begins to question all she’s been raised believing, and when she finally faces the truth, she wonders if humanity is even worth saving.

The premise of this book is compelling, especially in a time when gender and sex are such popular topics of conversation. The authors take these complex ideas and whittle them down to a really simple bottom line- we need both men and women to ensure the future of the human race. Yet, though it’s clear that without women being born, we will go extinct, it’s hard to believe such a catastrophe could happen. Throughout the entire read, I kept waiting for the authors to explain why the scientists couldn’t bioengineer a female child. We are already creating designer babies in present-day, which makes it confusing why that technology wouldn’t have advanced further in the future, especially when the other tech is highly sophisticated. The authors do say that naturally conceived girls, during the fifty year span, all died in utero. Perhaps, that is also what happened during scientific experiments. Regardless, I needed a more concrete answer on why science was failing and hypotheses of why this happened in the first place.

When I was able to suspend my disbelief, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I preferred reading Bram’s sections, but I liked Eve’s too. Both of them reminded me of Tris and Four from DIVERGENT, in their relationships to their parents and in their relationship to each other. Bram has a powerful and abusive father, like Four, and Eve learns her late mother isn’t who she thought, just like Tris discovers. I appreciated that EVE OF MAN had similar tone and themes to DIVERGENT, purposeful or not, and also liked how the authors choose to introduce Bram to Eve via Holly. It was really smart and was the best developed plot point in the story.

Overall, EVE OF MAN is a great first chapter in a forthcoming trilogy. It gave me all the action and government deception I expect from dystopias and I can’t wait to read the future sequels.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s...
The Winter Duke
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She survived the curse. Now she must survive the throne....
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold...
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...

Latest Member Reviews

Keystone
 
4.3
"KEYSTONE is an interesting YA dystopian. In the future, the world is now one collective country and is primarily ruled..."
Refraction
 
4.3
"Marty is a flawed character in any number of ways, not least of which is his propensity to do what's..."
Refraction
 
4.3
"REFRACTION is a highly readable/devourable book that is certainly a page-turner. In the post-apocalyptic future, a small island appears to..."
The Grace Year
 
5.0
"It’s been one week since I finished The Grace Year by Kim Liggett as I sit down to start this..."
The Light at the Bottom of the World (The Light at the Bottom of the World, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LIGHT AT THE BOTTOM OF THE WORLD is a compelling and atmospheric YA fantasy/science fiction. In the future, the..."
 
4.0
"EVE OF MAN by Giovanna and Tom Fletcher is the latest in YA dystopias. In the story, a phenomenon of..."
City of Beasts
 
5.0
"CITY OF BEASTS is the must-read dystopian of the fall. Highly recommend for fans of THE DIVERGENT, DARKEST MINDS, and/or..."
The Memory Thief
 
4.7
"THE MEMORY THIEF is an engrossing YA fantasy that will keep you turning pages late into the night. Etta lives..."
Rated
 
3.3
"RATED follows six teens in alternating points-of-view as they navigate a dystopian future. In this society, your life is dictated..."
The Grace Year
 
5.0
"THE HANDMAID'S TALE meets LORD OF THE FLIES in this dark, atmospheric, and sweeping YA dystopian. Tierney James is 16-years-old,..."
Trash
 
4.0
"The plot of the story for most of the book is great but towards the end of the book, it..."
Breakout
 
5.0
"BREAKOUT by A.M. Rose is an edge-of-your-seat, YA dystopian adventure that will have you turning page after page well past..."