Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 685
A subversive, epic sequel in a must-read series
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
*This review contains spoilers for book one, A BLADE SO BLACK*

A DREAM SO DARK, sequel to A BLADE SO BLACK, follows where the first book left off: Alice is in deep trouble with her mom, Hatta is on the verge of Madness, and the evil coming from Wonderland is still a mystery. There is so much to love in A DREAM SO DARK, from the action-packed plot, the deeper world building, and the mystery.

Being a Dreamwalker and having to go in and out of Wonderland where time is wonky, Alice is constantly disappearing, not answering calls, and generally scaring her mom to high levels of worry. Alice is torn between telling her mom the truth and possibly putting her in danger (or her mom disbelieving her entirely). I love how their relationship is always a central part to the story: two family members who love each other dearly and would do anything to protect the other. As the danger in Alice's secret world increases, she will have to decide sooner rather than later what to tell her mom.

While there were a few times I struggled to understand what was happening plot wise, by the end, we get a good explanation of what's going on and, importantly, what no one understands yet. Through the twists and turns in the plot, we are introduced to more areas of Wonderland and more information on the other Gates. There is so much rich world building in this story that I continuously found myself hoping we'll get several more installments in this series just to learn more about McKinney's Wonderland and to get to know the new characters better. I've never been a big fan of the original Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll, but McKinney's take on Wonderland and the complex, lovable characters she creates in this series have made me at least appreciate the original for being part of this series's inspiration.

While romance takes a back seat to the adventure, the romance(s) is so well done that I can't not comment on it. The central and secondary casts are primarily queer, and Alice has multiple romantic interests. A BLADE SO BLACK alludes to more of a love triangle, but truly, the trope is subverted in this series. Alice doesn't spend significant amounts of time worrying which person she likes the most. She's occupied with saving the world (multiple times) that, while she definitely has feelings for some people, she doesn't have the time to focus or explore them too deeply. There's just enough romance to add in swoons, butterflies, some drama, and set up the potential for more in future books. (And to clarify, romance is in no way treated as anything 'lesser' or unattainable in this series. Just not something there is room to resolve yet).

A DREAM SO DARK takes everything I loved in A BLADE SO BLACK (Wonderlandian adventures, kick-butt fight scenes, hilarious dialogue, and a top notch cast of characters) and multiples it by ten. This is a series you can sink into and stay awhile, and I hope we get more sequels!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...

Latest Member Reviews

The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Little Creeping Things
 
3.7
"LITTLE CREEPING THINGS was definitely a engrossing read, as I finished it pretty quickly. Here, we have Cassidy, who has..."
I'm Not Dying with You Tonight
 
3.7
"Los Angeles, Ferguson, and Baltimore. Three cities where years of racism, injustice, unchecked police brutality, and rampant anti-Black racism came..."
Scared Little Rabbits
 
3.0
"SCARED LITTLE RABBITS follows Nora (aka Eleanor, Lowercase) as she sets out on a summer camp adventure that resulted in..."
Reverie
 
5.0
"REVERIE is a captivating and unique YA fantasy without adequate comparisons. The book follows Kane, a teenage boy who was..."
The Dark Beneath the Ice
 
4.0
"THE DARK BENEATH THE ICE is a stunningly written YA horror that follows Marianne as she starts losing time, sees..."
The Storm Crow (The Storm Crow, #1)
 
5.0
"THE STORM CROW is an engrossing and imaginative YA fantasy. Anthia (Thia) is a princess of Rhodaire and eagerly awaits..."
Kingsbane (Empirium, #2)
 
4.7
"This exciting and fast-paced sequel picks up right where the first book left off. For that reason, this book does..."
Furyborn (Empirium, #1)
 
4.7
"FURYBORN is a YA fantasy that does not disappoint! We begin by seeing the world through the eyes of a..."
Catching Jordan
 
4.7
"It's sooooo cute!!!!!! I shipped Jordan and Sam pretty much from page 1. I can't praise this book enough...."
Stealing Parker
 
5.0
"I am a big fan and proud to say This book is amazing, and that's it I am no lyrical..."
The Six
 
3.0
"“The Six” is an intriguing sci-fi book about Adam Armstrong, who has Duchenne muscular dystrophy and is nearing his death..."