Review Detail

The Haunted Featured
Young Adult Fiction 664
creepy and fun page-turner
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
THE HAUNTED is a really fascinating YA horror that follows Hendricks, a teenage girl, after she moves into a haunted house. Hendricks and her family have moved to this small town for a clean start after an event which is not fully described until later in the book. Hendricks has a mysterious seeming past, and this makes her a bit of an enigma to the popular kids at school.

Hendricks is making friends with them, one of whom wants to date- but owing to what happened with her former boyfriend, Grayson, Hendricks is not sure if she is ready to date again. Her new home, The Steel House, was the scene of a gruesome murder but has been haunted for longer. Hendricks needs to figure out how to rid the house of ghosts if she or her family is to be safe.

Hendricks's neighbor, Eddie, might be able to help her, and although he is clearly a social pariah, she feels drawn to him- when no one else is around. Together, they may be able to figure out how to rid the house of these evil spirits.

What I loved: This book is creepy in a horroresque way with heavy supernatural elements. I would not recommend reading when alone at night, but it wasn't too scary- great for the intended audience. I was completely fascinated by the story- it pulls you in right away with not only the mystery of the house but also the mystery of Hendricks. She really comes to life off the pages, and I liked seeing the world through her eyes. This is ultimately a quick and fast-paced read.

What left me wanting more: There is quite a bit of side plot trying to create a romantic triangle that I really was not feeling. It was hard to see Hendricks getting pulled in by both boys in the time period and without having so many connecting conversations. I would have liked to pick one and have it built more. Also, it seemed a bit strange that Hendricks's parents were frequently leaving her alone and/or alone with her baby brother over night, especially considering what had happened in the past. However, these are relatively small things.

Final verdict: Overall, this is a fast-paced and fascinating supernatural horror that kept me quickly turning pages to the end. While I did not love the ending, it was complete and tied it all together really well. I would definitely recommend for people who are looking for creepy YA paranormal horror.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… ...
Moonscript
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes...
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A captivating and utterly original fairy tale about a girl...
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They have a love-hate relationship with summer. ...
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this epic sequel to Once & Future, to save...
11004295_10203571569113600_1962266189_n.jpg
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
*****Best YA Book & Author of the Year***** The...
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Being a part of the resistance group La Voz...
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
12-year-old Julia keeps a diary about her life growing...
Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more...
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Violet Choudhury may be part of the popular clique...
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this electrifying YA sequel to Beware the Night,...
Something New
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cassie Briggs never thought she’d be married at age sixteen—especially...
Crave
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
My whole world changed when I stepped inside the academy....
I Love You, Daddy (Peter Rabbit)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable rhyming Peter Rabbit book that celebrates dads everywhere....
Morning, Sunshine!
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
As we all wake up, the outside world bustles with...

Latest Member Reviews

The Ghost in Apartment 2R
 
5.0
"Danny's family lives in a two bedroom apartment in Brooklyn. The family has struggled financially, with his filmmaker father doing..."
Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
 
4.0
"AMELIA FANG AND THE BARBARIC BALL is the first book in the Amelia Fang series, a fantasy/magical middle grade series..."
Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis (Amelia Fang, #2)
 
4.5
"AMELIA FANG AND THE UNICORNS OF GLITTEROPOLIS is ultimately about harmful stereotypes, problems with misinformation, and the subversion of overly..."
Song for a Whale
 
5.0
"SONG FOR A WHALE is a heart-warming middle grade story about being different and finding your place. Iris is deaf,..."
Samantha Spinner and the Super-Secret Plans
 
5.0
"SAMANTHA SPINNER AND THE SUPER SECRET PLANS takes you on a historical adventure as Sam and her brother Nipper search..."
Everything You Need to Know About NIGHTMARES! and How to Defeat Them: The Nightmares! Handbook
 
4.0
"In this companion to the Nightmares! trilogy, a hodgepodge of supplementary material is presented. There are pictures and descriptions of..."
The Many Worlds of Albie Bright
 
4.0
"Albie Bright’s mom has died after a long illness, and he’s heartbroken. While trying to sort out his feelings..."
The Door in the Alley (The Explorers#1)
 
4.0
"Sebastian lives a well ordered existence with his staid, science loving family, and he is rather annoyed when his cousin..."
The Alchemyst (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel #1)
 
4.0
"I loved this book! From the references to classic myths, the incorporation of legendary characters and the unique take on..."
The Family Fletcher Takes Rock Island
 
4.0
"Papa, Dad and the boys are back after the school year they had in The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher...."
Click Here to Start
 
3.5
"Featuring mystery, history, and puzzles, this steady-paced Middle Grade work takes off near the end and sprints full-tilt. ..."
Click Here to Start
 
5.0
"Ted's mother's Uncle Ted is in the hospital, and it doesn't look good, so Ted visits him one last time...."
Lily and Dunkin
 
5.0
"Powerful, heart-wrenching, inspiring tale of Lily, a transgender girl who tries to be true to herself even when it seems..."
Going Where It's Dark
 
4.0
"Buck is looking at difficult summer at his rural home near the Blue Ridge Mountains. His best friend has moved..."
The Afterlife Academy
 
5.0
"The Afterlife Academy if a fun filled adventure. It deals with demons and ghosts, in a humorous way, while also..."
Brendan Buckley's Sixth Grade Experiment
 
5.0
"Brendan Buckley is back, (after Brenda Buckley's Universe and Everything in It) and he is still interested in science. Not..."
The Disappearance of Emily H.
 
4.0
"Raine isn't happy that her mother has moved them again, escaping from another not-so-nice boyfriend and "starting over". It means..."
The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher
 
5.0
"The new school year is starting, and the Fletcher boys are getting ready. Frog is in kindergarten, Jax is in..."
Death by Toilet Paper
 
4.0
"Benjamin's family is really struggling. His father died of cancer, and his mother is working as a waitress while trying..."
The Dominion Key (Joshua Dread #3)
 
4.0
"Joshua, Milton, Sophie and Miranda are all attacked by evil villains named Grifter and Lunk (who is made up..."