Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1415
Quick and Light Read
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a royal romance, but seeing an interracial royal YA couple on the cover really caught my attention. Add the fact that this was inspired by Harry and Meghan’s love story.

I was truly excited to read this because I haven’t read any book with royalties in a long while and I’m glad that Zora and Owen hit it off right from the start. I love Zora’s character because she’s independent, smart, a feminist and activist as well. She’s enrolled in a Summer Program at Halstead where she meets Owen in a library. Cute, yeah???

Owen can be the most charming as he can be and very much a gentleman but can level with Zora’s banter. At first, Zora didn’t know that Owen was a prince and once she did, she’s suddenly thrust into the spotlight.

I like Zora’s relationship with her family, especially with her brother, Zach. As for Owen, I wish I’d seen more from his side of the family. I feel like this book was more about building Zora’s character.

While the romance aspect kind of fell flat for me, I love how the book tackled black inclusivity and positivity. Although, I’m not the best person to judge on that but I really did appreciate it.

Overall, this book was a quick and light read. If you’re looking for a quick fix of royal romance, then you should pick up this book!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Foxheart
 
5.0
"A fantastically clever and magical adventure, complete with incredible feats of bravery, heart-warming characters, and strange beasts. FOXHEART tells the..."
Guys Read: Terrifying Tales
 
5.0
"There is something so wonderfully satisfying about a good scary book in October. Halloween is just around the corner, creepy..."
The Year of Shadows
 
4.5
"Middle Grade fiction and I don't usually get along, which is funny considering their covers are the cutest things EVER...."
The Year of Shadows
 
4.0
"What I Liked: My second favorite aspect of The Year of Shadows is definitely the heroine. Olivia Stellatella is a..."