Review Detail

Reverie FeaturedHot
Young Adult Fiction 4203
unique and compelling YA fantasy
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
REVERIE is a captivating and unique YA fantasy without adequate comparisons. The book follows Kane, a teenage boy who was in a strange car accident and who has lost a lot of his memories. He is close to his sister, Sophia, but is otherwise a bit of a loner. That is, he thought he was, but upon finding some pictures and running into some classmates, he is learning that the truth was something different.

Kane has stumbled upon The Others, a group which he was once a part of. This group has powers and can remain lucid during reveries, the magical manifestation of someone's fantasy/dreams that overtakes reality and must come to completion before they unravel it. Otherwise, the world may be destroyed.

As hinted in the synopsis, Poesy is a drag queen whose role is unclear. At first, she seems like a help to Kane, but her plots may be more sinister than they originally seem. With Kane's memories forgotten, the reader follows along with him to understand the past, save the present, and act to save the future.

What I loved: This was a truly unique book, and I was completely enthralled from start to finish. I am not sure I have ever read something like this, and the comparisons all seem inadequate. I loved the characters too- Kane was himself and yet lost. Through his eyes, we explore everyone else. Poesy was probably one of my favorite villains in fantasy for her magical prowess, devious subterfuge, and her lofty speech. She was hard to pinpoint, and I think it made her all the more intriguing.

Add that to The Others who we are unsure whether they are friend or foe, but the reader is still compelled to like, and Dean- mysterious boy- who really comes to life and evolves during the story. Dean is another amazing character, but the whole cast was just really well crafted.

The whole premise was just fantastic too, as people's inner fantasies come to life in incredible, albeit sometimes horrific, displays. The power of such truths and their oddities were really beautifully well done. While some things made you laugh, others made you want to cry- it was fascinating. The world-building here was really amazing. Oh, and also, the LGBTQIA+ representation was really well done, with many characters and beautiful romances.

Final verdict: Overall, this was a truly unique and enthralling fantasy with incredible characters, a well-crafted plot, and great romances. I would definitely love to see more from this talented author. Highly recommend for anyone looking for something completely different in YA fantasy. You won't regret picking up this gem!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

A Wolf for a Spell
 
4.0
"Zima is struggling to adjust to the new dynamics of her pack ever since her parents died in a fire..."