Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 7870
fantastic blend of sci-fi, action/mystery, and romance
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE BURNING SHADOW is a fantastic and thrilling continuation of the spin-off Origin series. Just like the original series, there is plenty of action and loads of swoon-worthy romance. Evie Dasher has learned in the first book that her past was not what she thought it was, and that something happened to her four years ago when she was turned over to the Daedalus, that evil organization experimenting on aliens/humans. She is fighting to figure out her identity and how to reconcile her past and present- which is extra-challenging since she has false memories in place of her real ones.

She knows that she cares a great deal for Luc, the sassy and incredibly powerful Origin who is certainly in love with her. Navigating a relationship with him isn't easy for Evie who isn't sure how much his feelings relate to who she was before. Luckily, Luc is ever the amazing person who is full of reassurances- and loves her now as he did then but also validates her identity.

Things are shifting as the government is trying to get all the aliens (Luxen and Arum) to register and to take away any rights they may have. People are protesting on both sides, and things are getting worse for the Luxen and those they care about when a serious flu- that is blamed on the Luxen- starts going around and killing people who seemed healthy enough before. When a student in Evie's class falls ill with this flu, it becomes apparent that there is something bigger going on.

Every bit as fast-paced, engaging, and full of sci-fi and action as the Lux series with a delicious new couple, fans will adore this new series and this powerful second book. Fans of the original series will definitely be pleased to see old characters reappear as well as enjoy the new storylines. While I think the context of the original series helps, this series could be read as a stand-alone, and things are recapped well throughout.

I would also recommend reading this series in order to fully understand this one, but if you read the first book when it came out, this second book recaps the events of the first enough to not require a reread. Although the ending is a little open for the next book, most answers to the questions raised in this book are received by the end to make people who are uncomfortable with cliffhangers happy. I highly recommend getting your hands on this one- fast-paced, delightful, and chock full of romance, action, and mystery.

The overall plot also carries some interesting undercurrents that reflect the political climate and can raise interesting discussions (such as registration of certain people/aliens, exclusion from entering a country/planet, a group receiving blame for diseases/unhappiness, etc.). The parallels are readily apparent and an add an interesting undercurrent to the story.

Armentrout is a master of blending romance and engrossing plot with a few bonus laughs, and this series is no different. Between the romantic relationship of Evie and Luc and the mystery of the deadly flu going around, this book is sure to keep the reader turning pages late into the night. YA sci-fi, romance, and mystery fans should definitely pick this one up!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...

Latest Member Reviews

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."