Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 8092
fantastic blend of sci-fi, action/mystery, and romance
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE BURNING SHADOW is a fantastic and thrilling continuation of the spin-off Origin series. Just like the original series, there is plenty of action and loads of swoon-worthy romance. Evie Dasher has learned in the first book that her past was not what she thought it was, and that something happened to her four years ago when she was turned over to the Daedalus, that evil organization experimenting on aliens/humans. She is fighting to figure out her identity and how to reconcile her past and present- which is extra-challenging since she has false memories in place of her real ones.

She knows that she cares a great deal for Luc, the sassy and incredibly powerful Origin who is certainly in love with her. Navigating a relationship with him isn't easy for Evie who isn't sure how much his feelings relate to who she was before. Luckily, Luc is ever the amazing person who is full of reassurances- and loves her now as he did then but also validates her identity.

Things are shifting as the government is trying to get all the aliens (Luxen and Arum) to register and to take away any rights they may have. People are protesting on both sides, and things are getting worse for the Luxen and those they care about when a serious flu- that is blamed on the Luxen- starts going around and killing people who seemed healthy enough before. When a student in Evie's class falls ill with this flu, it becomes apparent that there is something bigger going on.

Every bit as fast-paced, engaging, and full of sci-fi and action as the Lux series with a delicious new couple, fans will adore this new series and this powerful second book. Fans of the original series will definitely be pleased to see old characters reappear as well as enjoy the new storylines. While I think the context of the original series helps, this series could be read as a stand-alone, and things are recapped well throughout.

I would also recommend reading this series in order to fully understand this one, but if you read the first book when it came out, this second book recaps the events of the first enough to not require a reread. Although the ending is a little open for the next book, most answers to the questions raised in this book are received by the end to make people who are uncomfortable with cliffhangers happy. I highly recommend getting your hands on this one- fast-paced, delightful, and chock full of romance, action, and mystery.

The overall plot also carries some interesting undercurrents that reflect the political climate and can raise interesting discussions (such as registration of certain people/aliens, exclusion from entering a country/planet, a group receiving blame for diseases/unhappiness, etc.). The parallels are readily apparent and an add an interesting undercurrent to the story.

Armentrout is a master of blending romance and engrossing plot with a few bonus laughs, and this series is no different. Between the romantic relationship of Evie and Luc and the mystery of the deadly flu going around, this book is sure to keep the reader turning pages late into the night. YA sci-fi, romance, and mystery fans should definitely pick this one up!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...

Latest Member Reviews

Sex Kittens and Horn Dawgs Fall in Love
 
N/A
"[b]AMOXIL[/b] is used to treat many different types of infections caused by bacteria, such as ear infections, bladder infections, pneumonia,..."
Sounder
 
3.0
"HarperCollins issued a revised edition of this on 30 Decemember 2019. This 1970 Newbery winner is set in the deep..."
Holes
 
5.0
"Important message. Unique perspective."
Bud, Not Buddy
 
4.7
"Bud not Buddy is awesome! im in year 9 and im reading it in school for an assignment. On the..."
Holes
 
3.5
"A family curse, a false accusation, a local legend, and a series of coincidences come together in this generation-spanning tale..."
Before I Fall
 
5.0
"Love this book! One of my favorites."
Speak
 
3.7
"It's a fast read."
 
2.7
""Pretties" is a continuation of the Uglies series where Tally Youngblood has now returned to the city and become a..."
The Adoration of Jenna Fox (Jenna Fox Chronicles #1)
 
3.0
""The Adoration of Jenna Fox" is the story of a teenager who wakes up from a coma without any memories..."
It's Kind of a Funny Story
 
3.5
"A mature contemporary YA, set in New York City. The story is told in first-person present-tense, exclusively from the perspective..."
Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary "Jacky" Faber, Ship's Boy (Bloody Jack #1)
 
4.7
"This first-person present-tense piece of historical YA fiction begins a bit like a Charles Dicken’s work—eighteenth-century London, poor destitute orphan,..."
Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1)
 
3.7
"This one took a while to get into. I didn't warm much to Grace. She didn't seem to have much..."
Thirteen Reasons Why
 
5.0
"Definitely the reason why I decided to reread this was because of the show. and now that I finished reading..."
Thirteen Reasons Why
 
3.7
"Thirteen Reasons Why (stylised as Th1rteen R3eason Why) follows shy high school teenager Clay Jensen. Clay has received a..."
Tiger Eyes
 
4.0
"4.5 Stars A great and emotional read. A young teenage girl; Davey struggles with the loss of her father..."
The Lonely Hearts Club
 
4.0
" 4.5 Stars! This was a fun and sweet read. Definitely for fans of contemporary ya books. Penny Lane..."
The Lonely Hearts Club
 
4.0
"4.5 Stars! This was a fun and sweet read. Definitely for fans of contemporary ya books. Penny Lane is..."
Angus, Thongs & Full Frontal Snogging (Confessions of Georgia Nicolson #1)
 
4.0
DA Dragon Authors
"I (Erin) bought this one as a “blind date” from Malaprops. They wrap books in brown paper and write things..."
 
4.0
"The Deathday Letter by Shaun David Hutchinson is a young adult standalone novel. This is not the first book by..."
 
3.3
"Nick O’Leary, the straight bass player in queercore punk band, is playing at a club in downtown Manhattan when he..."