Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 259
lush and engrossing stand-alone fantasy
(Updated: August 01, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
TIGER QUEEN is an engrossing retelling of the short story, THE LADY, OR THE TIGER? that really takes it above and beyond. Kateri is a princess of Achra, a desert kingdom which suffers under a severe drought. Kateri is from a long line of rulers, and she remembers her promise to her mother to love and take care of the people. However, her primary focus is proving herself worthy to take over the crown through battles which she must fight, once a month. If she wins, she gets closer to taking the crown, but if she is ever to lose, she must marry the man who bests her.

Secondarily, her heart is burning for revenge against the Desert Boys, who she believes murdered her mother and baby brother. The Desert Boys are a mysterious group who live in the desert and fight off soldiers to steal water from the ever dwindling water supply. The king continues to tighten restrictions on water, rationing it to very low levels for the townspeople, and restricting the number of children a family can have to two, to also promote conservation of water. As the value of sons is very high- signifying virility and strength of the father, this limit leads to unfair practices and sometimes the death of women who bear daughters. Kateri knows her father would have rather had a son, and he can be cruel in his lack of care for her- until she wins the fights easily, but any sign of weakness can bring his anger.

However, when her father announces that the last challenger will be a viciously cruel man who also was responsible for her training and so will likely beat her, Kateri knows she needs to find someone new to train her- and who better than the Desert Boy who bested her in the past? Her journey will be both physical and emotional as she comes to see her life and that of others through new eyes.

What I loved: Lush, beautifully crafted, and lyrically written, the world of Achra and the desert is built wonderfully. This story pulls the reader in right from the start. Kateri shows a lot of character growth throughout the story, and I loved watching the way she changes and finds herself. She is a fantastic lead, and readers see the world through her first person point-of-view. The whole plot is completely engrossing and will certainly have broad appeal. I also loved the twisting takes on the short story that really make this unique. The romance is just the cherry on the sundae that is this delicious read.

Final verdict: TIGER QUEEN is a gorgeous, lush YA fiction that will hold a lot of appeal for fans of THE REMNANT CHRONICLES, THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS, and THE WINNER'S CURSE. Highly recommend for anyone looking for a beautifully crafted stand-alone book.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sage Sassafras’s life is cursed! No, really. Since birth, Sage...
Naked Mole Rat Saves the World
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can Kit’s super-weird superpower save her world? ...
The Brokenhearted
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
teenage girl is transformed into a reluctant superhero and...
Brave Enough
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Teenager Cason Martin is the youngest ballerina in the Atlanta...
I Wanna Be Where You Are
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Chloe Pierce’s mom forbids her to apply for a...
The Moment We Fell (Mystic Shores Series, Book #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nothing good happens when people keep secrets. ...
The Hit List
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Los Angeles Conservatory for the Arts is supposed to...
Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hilarious illustrated middle grade series for reluctant readers starring...
Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis (Amelia Fang, #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in a hilarious heavily illustrated middle-grade series...
Small World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Nanda is born, the whole of her world is...
On the First Day of Summer Vacation
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
When school is out, it’s time to celebrate and have...
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants (The Questioneers, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An instant New York Times bestseller! ...
Bad Bella
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bella is the very best dog a family could ask...
Dear Justice League
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hello! Justice League here. Ask us anything! ...
Cracking the Bell
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Friday Night Lights meets Concussion in this powerful and important...
Ghosts of Lock Tower
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A haunted tower, an evil ghost, a monster spawned from...

Latest Member Reviews

Nemesis (Project Nemesis 1)
 
4.0
"Nemesis is a page-turning, thrilling puzzle that will grab the reader from the very beginning. Told in first-person from the..."
Anna and the French Kiss
 
4.7
"Anna's father decides he's going to send Anna to a international boarding school in Paris. It's her senior year and..."
Faithful
 
5.0
"Faithful is a story that combines history, romance, and a bit of mystery. Set in the summer of 1904 and..."
Stormbreaker (Alex Rider #1)
 
3.7
"The novel opens following the death of 14-year-old Alex Rider’s guardian and uncle Ian in a car accident. Alex becomes..."
Popular: How A Geek in Pearls Discovered the Secret to Confidence
 
5.0
"Most so-called memoirs can come off dry or not too interesting. POPULAR isn't that book. Rather it's an..."
Stormbreaker (Alex Rider #1)
 
N/A
""When the doorbell rings at three in the morning, it's never good news". Alex(main character) is a school boy, his..."
Stormbreaker (Alex Rider #1)
 
3.3
"Alex's adventures remind me of the Hardy Boys and how I felt when I read them for the first time..."
Demonosity
 
4.0
"Demons, magic, knight warriors, ancient book, "a powerful ancient force", good vs evil, and a teenager, Cassidy, in the middle..."
Sirens (Faithful #3)
 
3.3
"I am going to be going back and reading the first two for sure. Overall a good read, and..."
Twelfth Grade Kills
 
4.7
"Twelfth Grade Kills will be something I come back and read. Even though a lot of great people died I..."
Spirit Walk (Walk #1-2)
 
5.0
"One the best paranormal story I have read so far. I even wanted to call on sick at work so..."
Anna and the French Kiss
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start. This book was amazingly sweet and wonderful. First of all it takes place..."
Anna and the French Kiss
 
N/A
"I really love Stephanies two books. She write amazing yet unique stories and wonderful characters."
Stormbreaker (Alex Rider #1)
 
4.3
"A mysterious thriller that takes place in top secret investigation. There was this kid named Alex Rider he lived..."
Anna and the French Kiss
 
4.7
"When i began to read Anna and the french kiss, i thought it would be lame and borring. But i..."
Salvation
 
4.3
"What I Loved: My very favorite thing about Salvation is the subject matter. As we readers know, YA fiction tends..."
Sirens (Faithful #3)
 
4.0
"What I Loved: The world building! Wow. From the very first word, the reader is completely drawn into the..."
Anna and the French Kiss
 
5.0
"Anna and the French Kiss has been hyped beyond belief in the book blogging community. Sometimes hype turns out to..."
Anna and the French Kiss
 
5.0
"I really love Stephanie Perkins. She knows just how to write amazing contemporary love stories that will leave you..."
Stormbreaker (Alex Rider #1)
 
4.3
"Okay, so, Alex is a normal fourteen year old. He goes to school, and does completely normal stuff. At least,..."