Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 2279
engrossing thriller/suspense
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
EVERY STOLEN BREATH is an engrossing read that follows Lia as she attempts to uncover her father's killers. Every so often, Chicago is hit by the Swarm, a large group of teenagers who attack a person, seemingly at random, by surrounding and beating them to death. As it is such a large group, there is not much that can be done to stop them, and witnesses are few and sometimes killed. The attacks seemed random until Lia's father was the victim two years ago. Her father was investigating the Swarm and was about to convict someone he thought was behind it.

After her father's death, no one has been able to make the connections and piece together who is really behind the Swarm. Lia is obsessed with figuring it out- despite her asthma and PTSD. However, her determination has led her to where she thinks she may know where the next attack will be. She has contacted the police, but what they really need is evidence, and Lia is determined to get it for them, by recording where she believes will be their next attack.

However, the close encounter only escalates the danger for her- and leaves her without the evidence she needs. Unable to drop her search for justice, the clock is ticking until the Swarm chooses her as its next victim or she exposes whoever is behind it.

What I loved: The plot of this book was really interesting with chasing down clues, and the ways that Lia navigates this world make it really engrossing (big whodunnit mystery, plus the thriller aspects of potential targeting). She is lucky to be aided by others in her journey, and the information about cyber security seemed really well researched. The representation of Lia's PTSD was really strong, and bringing attention to mental illness is helpful- especially here, where Lia's mother is getting her help to treat it.

What left me wanting more: As a minor point, there are some sections of the book that seemed to drag a little (in the middle, when not too much happens), and I would have liked to keep up the fast pacing going throughout. Overall, it kept the thriller/mystery plot line going strong throughout.

I would add warnings for major character death, murder, and assault, as well as a minor warning for a not-completely-wrapped up ending. The big things are taken care of, but I wonder if there might be a sequel in the works...

Final verdict: Original, engrossing, and full of suspense, EVERY STOLEN BREATH is an intense YA thriller/mystery and page-turner. I would highly recommend for people who enjoy procedurals/thrillers and a tenacious heroine.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...

Latest Member Reviews

The Muddy Little Piggy's
 
4.0
"All together this was written for children and it definitely shows I think any child that loves farm animals will..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by #1 Supporter Though this book may be abit harsh to the untrained eye, it clearly possesses a..."
The Puppy Who Found A Boy
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Brittany Written from the puppy's point of view, it shows how special the bond between a..."
101 Borden Street
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by mike shelly123 I just received the item I ordered, and was very pleased I got a truly..."
Tara's Adventures in Life: First Love
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Samantha I loved this book.  Tara and her friends get into some situations that every girl should..."
Tara's Adventures in Life: First Love
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Laura A great book and a must read for anyone starting to date.  For me, this book..."
Tara's Adventures in Life: First Love
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Lindsey S. Tara is someone that I could like, if she went to my school.  She has..."
Tara's Adventures in Life: First Love
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Alicia When your new to dating, everything seems exciting, but it can also be scary.  Tara experiences..."
Tara's Adventures in Life: First Love
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Joelle M. Great Book, all the romance and drama, and no vampires....I loved it. Tara and her..."
Tara's Adventures in Life: First Love
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Kayla Roberts I loved the characters. They remind me of my friends. Lots of romance and drama...."
Tara's Adventures in Life: First Love
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Ella--EB Great Book.  Its a must read for anyone that likes romance novels or series books.  I..."
Tara's Adventures in Life: First Love
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Alex This book is one of the best books that I have read in a long time...."
Tara's Adventures in Life: First Love
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by GABRIELLA OMG! THIS BOOK IS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. WHEN I GO INTO THE 7TH GRADE THIS YEAR I..."
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Raghavan Jayaprakash, Author of " Life Blossoms Like a Rose in Thorns" Review by B.K.Walker sent to..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Raghavan Jayaprakash, Author of " Poems That Thrill" Poems Reviewed by Joanie Faulton and sent to the..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Raghavan Jayaprakash, Author of " Poems That Thrill" Poems Reviewed by Joanie Faulton and sent to the..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Jayan "Life Blossoms Like a Rose in Thorns" is a work of fiction about Smitha, who..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Douglas R. Cobb Fourteen-year-old Krista McKinley finds herself a stranger in a strange land when she, her..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Lizzy Before I started it, the only knowledge I had about this book was from a few..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Gwyn Lee   In the Young Adult novel LOOKING..."