Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1059
fast-paced, coming-of-age historical Christian fiction
(Updated: July 07, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
MOON WATER follows Nettie in the summer of 1969 when her life is in turmoil. Nettie is 16 years old and her life is changing. She is not sure if she and her boyfriend, Andy- a childhood friend turned more- will last once they go to college, and this worry has been making her unsure of whether she loves him. Andy decides to give her a break until she can figure it out.

At the same time, she is preparing for baptism in the church. However, Nettie still has a lot of questions about religion that she isn't sure about, and her honesty means she cannot lie to the pastor, resulting in a delay in her baptism. He assigns her to work with another pastor more closely to go over material and believe more fully before she is baptized.

Nettie and her BFF Win are inseparable and do everything together, and this summer is no different. As per usual, they often take the train to Win's grandmother Nibi. Nibi is a Monacan Shaman or Medicine Woman, and she has warnings for the girls with the upcoming blood moon. As part of this, she is teaching them carefully how to make dreamcatchers starting with how to painstakingly gather the materials they need. Many other lessons are tucked into the process.

What I loved: The best parts of the book were those with the dreamcatchers and the lessons that Nibi teaches the girls. I would have loved to be even more fully immersed in the Monacan culture and Nibi's vast knowledge. The plot is fast-paced, a lot of the story told in dialogue, which keeps things interesting and moving quickly. There are also some interesting debates on Christianity and good/evil in the context of Christianity (I would certainly label this as Christian fiction), as Nettie prepares for her baptism. Some of the concepts/lessons, such as good and evil coexisting and not being easy to separate, are universal, however.

What left me wanting more: The book seemed more focused on the Christian spiritual journey than on the Native American, and I was looking for more along the latter. I would also love to read a book from Win's point-of-view, exploring her culture more closely. Here, it was a secondary plot.

This may be a spoiler, so if you want to avoid them- skip this paragraph. A big part of the latter story was sexual assault/harassment. While this is handled with some care (police mentioned), I would have liked to see more about the recovery/resources. Parents are hardly involved and no therapist or other resources are described. The book overall has a quick pace that does not get into the details, but this is a pretty big plot point here, so I would have liked to see more.

I would also add warnings for character death and natural disasters.

Final verdict: Overall, this is a fast-paced coming-of-age story that weaves some Native American traditions into Christian fiction with interesting morality and faith-based discussions. I would recommend for people looking for something unique that will spark interesting discourse on good/evil, sins, and moving forward after traumatic events.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 3 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Switched at Birthday
 
4.0
"'Switched at Birthday' by Natalie Standiford is a cute fantasy story about the power of empathy. Main characters Lavender and..."
The Time of the Fireflies
 
5.0
"In The Time of the Fireflies, twelve-year-old Larissa Renaud immediately reveals her chaotic family life and her inner turmoil as..."
Switched at Birthday
 
4.0
"I had the privilege of reading and reviewing The Secret Tree a couple of years ago, and so I was..."
Meeting Cezanne
 
4.0
"Yannick is a lonely boy visiting the Provence region of France, where he wanders the fields and forests, wonders about..."
The Door
 
5.0
"Reminiscent of Clive Barker's ABARAT series, THE DOOR is a magical adventure filled with twisty turns and strange wonders. ..."
Bluffton: My Summers with Buster Keaton
 
4.0
"This book starts out slow and sleepy, like a warm summer day. Readers who enjoy flashy, humorous graphic novels or..."
The Little Leftover Witch
 
3.0
"When Felina, a young witch, crash lands near Lucinda's house on Halloween, Lucinda's family, the Doons, take her in. Since..."
The Little Leftover Witch
 
3.0
"What a cute little story this one is! Short and sweet, The Little Leftover Witch is a story that features..."
Beholding Bee
 
5.0
"Pick up this book. Behold, in your hands, you hold a magical story that will write itself on your heart...."
The Passover Lamb
 
4.5
"A young Jewish girl, who is excited and prepared for Passover and her first recital of the 'four questions' during..."
Homesick
 
3.0
"Benny's mother has finally had it with the junk that his father brings home, especially since he has lost the..."
Summer at Forsaken Lake
 
5.0
"Nicholas and his twin sisters Hayley and Hetty are sent to a small Ohio lake front town to stay with..."
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
 
4.0
"A brilliant read. The narrative voice is so authentic I had to wonder if this was in some part a..."