Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1751
Truly Madly Royally
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Truly Madly Royally was a cute-ish read that lacked a certain something to take it fully over the edge.

Zora is a modern day activist, socialist and do-gooder.

Zora is attending a prestigious college to prepare for (possible) attendance in the fall. While doing this she manages a community program, fully built on the back of an idea she came up with—to better her community.

She’s also in prep to receive awards for her work and grants (hopefully *fingers crossed) to fund her program dutifully called the ‘Walk Me Home Program.’ Zora is what adults wish kids would be, and there is no hidden agenda involved.

While attending this prestigious school, she meets, Owen, the prince. A chance encounter leads to public scrutiny. Now she has to choose. Is being close to the Prince worth all the hassle it’s causing?

The worthiness is something the reader will struggle with. Was it all worth it? With a lack of cutesy moments, and overall depth outside of covert conversations and wry smiles—one can’t tell if it is.

The romance is severely lacking, only told in small sections and bursts (though cute-ish). It doesn’t carry the story and left this reader feeling a little shortchanged.

Don’t be mistaken the characters are root-worthy, but the romance was disappointing.

As far as the plot, though the book seems to have an agenda, it’s slow getting there and leaves the reader feeling less satiated than expected. It seems to get nowhere. The ending is pretty meh in terms of the happiness factor. It’s a happy ending, but it’s less happy and more expectant.

With an almost ripped from the headlines plot,  from an obvious Harry and Meghan supporter; the book doesn’t excite in the way an upcoming royal nuptial would.

What it doesn’t lack, however, is black positivity. Positivity, that will excite readers young and old by delving into historical facts (True or not true, that is not clear without research) and overall black joy, the book does an outstanding job of being black positive—while keeping its authenticity.

Many young readers will relish in the inclusivity. But it lacks oomph and romance.

The writing is good, but it doesn’t make up for what it lacks.

Is it worth buying? Sure. Just don’t lean too heavily on the romance the cover portrays.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

The Stars at Oktober Bend
 
5.0
"Alice Nightingale is broken. It's been three years since the horrific act that left her under the "spell of twelveness"--a..."