Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1897
Truly Madly Royally
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Truly Madly Royally was a cute-ish read that lacked a certain something to take it fully over the edge.

Zora is a modern day activist, socialist and do-gooder.

Zora is attending a prestigious college to prepare for (possible) attendance in the fall. While doing this she manages a community program, fully built on the back of an idea she came up with—to better her community.

She’s also in prep to receive awards for her work and grants (hopefully *fingers crossed) to fund her program dutifully called the ‘Walk Me Home Program.’ Zora is what adults wish kids would be, and there is no hidden agenda involved.

While attending this prestigious school, she meets, Owen, the prince. A chance encounter leads to public scrutiny. Now she has to choose. Is being close to the Prince worth all the hassle it’s causing?

The worthiness is something the reader will struggle with. Was it all worth it? With a lack of cutesy moments, and overall depth outside of covert conversations and wry smiles—one can’t tell if it is.

The romance is severely lacking, only told in small sections and bursts (though cute-ish). It doesn’t carry the story and left this reader feeling a little shortchanged.

Don’t be mistaken the characters are root-worthy, but the romance was disappointing.

As far as the plot, though the book seems to have an agenda, it’s slow getting there and leaves the reader feeling less satiated than expected. It seems to get nowhere. The ending is pretty meh in terms of the happiness factor. It’s a happy ending, but it’s less happy and more expectant.

With an almost ripped from the headlines plot,  from an obvious Harry and Meghan supporter; the book doesn’t excite in the way an upcoming royal nuptial would.

What it doesn’t lack, however, is black positivity. Positivity, that will excite readers young and old by delving into historical facts (True or not true, that is not clear without research) and overall black joy, the book does an outstanding job of being black positive—while keeping its authenticity.

Many young readers will relish in the inclusivity. But it lacks oomph and romance.

The writing is good, but it doesn’t make up for what it lacks.

Is it worth buying? Sure. Just don’t lean too heavily on the romance the cover portrays.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
The Outsiders
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
Sex Kittens and Horn Dawgs Fall in Love
 
N/A
"[b]AMOXIL[/b] is used to treat many different types of infections caused by bacteria, such as ear infections, bladder infections, pneumonia,..."
Sounder
 
3.0
"HarperCollins issued a revised edition of this on 30 Decemember 2019. This 1970 Newbery winner is set in the deep..."
Holes
 
5.0
"Important message. Unique perspective."
Bud, Not Buddy
 
4.7
"Bud not Buddy is awesome! im in year 9 and im reading it in school for an assignment. On the..."
Holes
 
3.5
"A family curse, a false accusation, a local legend, and a series of coincidences come together in this generation-spanning tale..."
Before I Fall
 
5.0
"Love this book! One of my favorites."
Speak
 
3.7
"It's a fast read."
 
2.7
""Pretties" is a continuation of the Uglies series where Tally Youngblood has now returned to the city and become a..."
The Adoration of Jenna Fox (Jenna Fox Chronicles #1)
 
3.0
""The Adoration of Jenna Fox" is the story of a teenager who wakes up from a coma without any memories..."
It's Kind of a Funny Story
 
3.5
"A mature contemporary YA, set in New York City. The story is told in first-person present-tense, exclusively from the perspective..."
Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary "Jacky" Faber, Ship's Boy (Bloody Jack #1)
 
4.7
"This first-person present-tense piece of historical YA fiction begins a bit like a Charles Dicken’s work—eighteenth-century London, poor destitute orphan,..."
Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1)
 
3.7
"This one took a while to get into. I didn't warm much to Grace. She didn't seem to have much..."
Thirteen Reasons Why
 
5.0
"Definitely the reason why I decided to reread this was because of the show. and now that I finished reading..."
Thirteen Reasons Why
 
3.7
"Thirteen Reasons Why (stylised as Th1rteen R3eason Why) follows shy high school teenager Clay Jensen. Clay has received a..."
Tiger Eyes
 
4.0
"4.5 Stars A great and emotional read. A young teenage girl; Davey struggles with the loss of her father..."
The Lonely Hearts Club
 
4.0
" 4.5 Stars! This was a fun and sweet read. Definitely for fans of contemporary ya books. Penny Lane..."
The Lonely Hearts Club
 
4.0
"4.5 Stars! This was a fun and sweet read. Definitely for fans of contemporary ya books. Penny Lane is..."
Angus, Thongs & Full Frontal Snogging (Confessions of Georgia Nicolson #1)
 
4.0
DA Dragon Authors
"I (Erin) bought this one as a “blind date” from Malaprops. They wrap books in brown paper and write things..."