Review Detail

dark, imaginative, and enthralling
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
THE SURFACE BREAKS is a slow-building retelling of The Little Mermaid. While staying true to the classic, this story adds a lot in terms of sexism and the oppression of women. Muirgen (aka Gaia, Grace) is the youngest daughter of the sea king and a mermaid. She is turning fifteen when the book begins, and she is betrothed to Zale, an old man and a warrior of the sea who has made it his mission to kill all the Rusalkas.

Muirgen is desperate to escape. As a mermaid, she has been raised to know that her only value is in her beauty- her long hair, her pretty face, her thinness, and her silence. Under the sea, the sea king wields his power, often with violence and always with the oppression of women, who have no figurative voice. When Muirgen sees a boy on a ship, she feels that she loves him instantly, and when the Rusalkas (essentially sirens, less beautiful mermaid-type creatures who were once human but died due to the cruelty of men and thus lure men to their deaths) have him, Muirgen pulls him away and brings him to shore.

Thinking that her love of him will save her, she goes to the only person who might help her- the sea witch, Ceto. Ceto agrees to help her- for a price. However, with an abusive man as her future husband and hope for a better life on land, Muirgen is willing to pay any price. She is also hopeful that she may learn what happened to her mother who disappeared/died when she was one year old when captured by humans. However, once she reaches land, things are much more complicated than Muirgen would have anticipated and time runs quickly towards her end.

What I loved: Ceto was my absolute favorite character here, and she speaks some important truths. In terms of this being a feminist retelling of The Little Mermaid, you can see it in the messages you take away- plus in pretty much everything Ceto says. While there is instalove, this actually is explained and drawn out further in the rest of the book in a way that pokes fun at the notion (e.g. as Ceto points out, this is lust- not love), and I actually really enjoyed this explanation, especially since, in the book, this comes in part because of the way girls are raised and taught about their emotions/bodies.

Other thoughts: The book begins slowly with long, drawn-out world-building before we get to the key parts. Once it moves into the fairytale, it does speed up quite a bit. I do understand the necessity of building up the world also, and the pace does get faster through the book. I would add warnings for sexual assault (multiple instances), physical and emotional abuse, torture, fat-shaming/extreme sexism, and homophobia. As such, I would recommend for older readers.

Final verdict: With many truths (Ceto) and lessons to be learned throughout, this retelling lives up to its description, an important feminist take on The Little Mermaid. THE SURFACE BREAKS is an engrossing and fascinating read with many takeaways that add a lot to the value of the story. I would recommend for older YA readers who are looking for a strong fairytale retelling and/or a dark and engaging fantasy read.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."