Review Detail

dark, imaginative, and enthralling
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
THE SURFACE BREAKS is a slow-building retelling of The Little Mermaid. While staying true to the classic, this story adds a lot in terms of sexism and the oppression of women. Muirgen (aka Gaia, Grace) is the youngest daughter of the sea king and a mermaid. She is turning fifteen when the book begins, and she is betrothed to Zale, an old man and a warrior of the sea who has made it his mission to kill all the Rusalkas.

Muirgen is desperate to escape. As a mermaid, she has been raised to know that her only value is in her beauty- her long hair, her pretty face, her thinness, and her silence. Under the sea, the sea king wields his power, often with violence and always with the oppression of women, who have no figurative voice. When Muirgen sees a boy on a ship, she feels that she loves him instantly, and when the Rusalkas (essentially sirens, less beautiful mermaid-type creatures who were once human but died due to the cruelty of men and thus lure men to their deaths) have him, Muirgen pulls him away and brings him to shore.

Thinking that her love of him will save her, she goes to the only person who might help her- the sea witch, Ceto. Ceto agrees to help her- for a price. However, with an abusive man as her future husband and hope for a better life on land, Muirgen is willing to pay any price. She is also hopeful that she may learn what happened to her mother who disappeared/died when she was one year old when captured by humans. However, once she reaches land, things are much more complicated than Muirgen would have anticipated and time runs quickly towards her end.

What I loved: Ceto was my absolute favorite character here, and she speaks some important truths. In terms of this being a feminist retelling of The Little Mermaid, you can see it in the messages you take away- plus in pretty much everything Ceto says. While there is instalove, this actually is explained and drawn out further in the rest of the book in a way that pokes fun at the notion (e.g. as Ceto points out, this is lust- not love), and I actually really enjoyed this explanation, especially since, in the book, this comes in part because of the way girls are raised and taught about their emotions/bodies.

Other thoughts: The book begins slowly with long, drawn-out world-building before we get to the key parts. Once it moves into the fairytale, it does speed up quite a bit. I do understand the necessity of building up the world also, and the pace does get faster through the book. I would add warnings for sexual assault (multiple instances), physical and emotional abuse, torture, fat-shaming/extreme sexism, and homophobia. As such, I would recommend for older readers.

Final verdict: With many truths (Ceto) and lessons to be learned throughout, this retelling lives up to its description, an important feminist take on The Little Mermaid. THE SURFACE BREAKS is an engrossing and fascinating read with many takeaways that add a lot to the value of the story. I would recommend for older YA readers who are looking for a strong fairytale retelling and/or a dark and engaging fantasy read.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Naked Mole Rat Saves the World
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can Kit’s super-weird superpower save her world? ...
The Brokenhearted
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
teenage girl is transformed into a reluctant superhero and...
Brave Enough
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Teenager Cason Martin is the youngest ballerina in the Atlanta...
I Wanna Be Where You Are
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Chloe Pierce’s mom forbids her to apply for a...
The Moment We Fell (Mystic Shores Series, Book #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nothing good happens when people keep secrets. ...
The Hit List
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Los Angeles Conservatory for the Arts is supposed to...
Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hilarious illustrated middle grade series for reluctant readers starring...
Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis (Amelia Fang, #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in a hilarious heavily illustrated middle-grade series...
Small World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Nanda is born, the whole of her world is...
On the First Day of Summer Vacation
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
When school is out, it’s time to celebrate and have...
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants (The Questioneers, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An instant New York Times bestseller! ...
Bad Bella
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bella is the very best dog a family could ask...
Dear Justice League
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hello! Justice League here. Ask us anything! ...
Cracking the Bell
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Friday Night Lights meets Concussion in this powerful and important...
Ghosts of Lock Tower
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A haunted tower, an evil ghost, a monster spawned from...
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
What better way to encourage a little one to sleep...

Latest Member Reviews

Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
 
4.0
"AMELIA FANG AND THE BARBARIC BALL is the first book in the Amelia Fang series, a fantasy/magical middle grade series..."
Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis (Amelia Fang, #2)
 
4.5
"AMELIA FANG AND THE UNICORNS OF GLITTEROPOLIS is ultimately about harmful stereotypes, problems with misinformation, and the subversion of overly..."
Small World
 
5.0
"SMALL WORLD is a gorgeous celebration of growing up and following your dreams. When Nanda was born, her world was..."
On the First Day of Summer Vacation
 
3.5
"ON THE FIRST DAY OF SUMMER VACATION uses the tune of The 12 Days of Christmas to present the fun..."
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants (The Questioneers, #2)
 
5.0
"Budding scientists, rejoice! The Questioneers is the perfect series to show you the how and to have some extra scientific..."
Bad Bella
 
4.0
"Bella lives with the McBrides, who have several small children and often forget Bella's needs. She gets in trouble for..."
Dear Justice League
 
5.0
"In this short, middle grade graphic novel, DC superheroes from the Justice League answer e mails from young fans. Superman..."
Shake It Off! (Wish #8)
 
4.0
"Bria has made some poor choices concerning friends and social media back home in Chicago, so her parents have decided..."
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
"BABIES CAN SLEEP ANYWHERE is a cute rhyming book about sleep. The book goes through where animals sleep (e.g. puppy..."
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
"This episode of THE BAD GUYS has the crew planning for a way to stop the aliens and help the..."
Not if I Can Help It
 
4.0
"Willa has struggled with a sensory processing disorder her whole life, but with supportive parents and some occupational therapy, she..."
Emily Out of Focus
 
4.0
"Emily and her parents go to China to bring home the little girl they are adopting. Emily isn't crazy about..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."
Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
"My Fate According to the Butterfly is probably the first Middle Grade novel I’ve read in a very long time...."