Review Detail

dark, imaginative, and enthralling
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
THE SURFACE BREAKS is a slow-building retelling of The Little Mermaid. While staying true to the classic, this story adds a lot in terms of sexism and the oppression of women. Muirgen (aka Gaia, Grace) is the youngest daughter of the sea king and a mermaid. She is turning fifteen when the book begins, and she is betrothed to Zale, an old man and a warrior of the sea who has made it his mission to kill all the Rusalkas.

Muirgen is desperate to escape. As a mermaid, she has been raised to know that her only value is in her beauty- her long hair, her pretty face, her thinness, and her silence. Under the sea, the sea king wields his power, often with violence and always with the oppression of women, who have no figurative voice. When Muirgen sees a boy on a ship, she feels that she loves him instantly, and when the Rusalkas (essentially sirens, less beautiful mermaid-type creatures who were once human but died due to the cruelty of men and thus lure men to their deaths) have him, Muirgen pulls him away and brings him to shore.

Thinking that her love of him will save her, she goes to the only person who might help her- the sea witch, Ceto. Ceto agrees to help her- for a price. However, with an abusive man as her future husband and hope for a better life on land, Muirgen is willing to pay any price. She is also hopeful that she may learn what happened to her mother who disappeared/died when she was one year old when captured by humans. However, once she reaches land, things are much more complicated than Muirgen would have anticipated and time runs quickly towards her end.

What I loved: Ceto was my absolute favorite character here, and she speaks some important truths. In terms of this being a feminist retelling of The Little Mermaid, you can see it in the messages you take away- plus in pretty much everything Ceto says. While there is instalove, this actually is explained and drawn out further in the rest of the book in a way that pokes fun at the notion (e.g. as Ceto points out, this is lust- not love), and I actually really enjoyed this explanation, especially since, in the book, this comes in part because of the way girls are raised and taught about their emotions/bodies.

Other thoughts: The book begins slowly with long, drawn-out world-building before we get to the key parts. Once it moves into the fairytale, it does speed up quite a bit. I do understand the necessity of building up the world also, and the pace does get faster through the book. I would add warnings for sexual assault (multiple instances), physical and emotional abuse, torture, fat-shaming/extreme sexism, and homophobia. As such, I would recommend for older readers.

Final verdict: With many truths (Ceto) and lessons to be learned throughout, this retelling lives up to its description, an important feminist take on The Little Mermaid. THE SURFACE BREAKS is an engrossing and fascinating read with many takeaways that add a lot to the value of the story. I would recommend for older YA readers who are looking for a strong fairytale retelling and/or a dark and engaging fantasy read.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s...
The Winter Duke
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She survived the curse. Now she must survive the throne....
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold...
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...

Latest Member Reviews

Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
"MOST LIKELY is a fantastic YA contemporary about friendship. The book starts with a woman becoming president and reflecting back..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."