Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 532
This Cruel Design Review
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Feedback
This book…. What do I have to say about this book…. I have such a love/hate relationship with it. I love it so much because it was so good and continually had me turning the pages. Each set up was perfect for me to keep going. Each secret revealed had me on the edge of my seat. Each gun shot, explosion, and discovery I felt in my bones. I hate it because I don’t have the next book in front of me. I hate it because I don’t know what is going to happen. I hate it because that ending was way too much for me to handle. I hate it because I am so emotionally attached to this story. After I finished this story of twists and revelations I honestly had to control my emotions because I was everywhere. This is definitely a more personal review because that’s how the book hits me. The way that is written made me so emotionally attached to the outcome of what’s going to happen next. It was so successful that I had to wait nearly 2 weeks to write this review and I’m still not emotionally okay. I have never experienced an ending like I had to this book where I immediately wanted to throw the book and swear and demand the ending. Seriously such a success. The story takes unexpected turns which creates such an engaging pace.

The characters. I just don’t know how to deal. Catarina is just by far one of my favorite characters I have come across in a book. She is strong, smart, and brave. Catarina knows what is right and even though she is tested multiple times, she continues to stand by her morals. It is tough for her because we find out that she doesn’t truly exist. She was created but is actually Jun Bei. So, along with trying to figure out this new virus and how to handle the fact that her “father” wants to genetically alter Wrath out of people, she has to deal with Jun Bei memories coming to the surface. Honestly, if I was Catarina, I would have never made it. I’m disappointed that I didn’t like Cole as much in this book as the first. I have a feeling that has more to do with Anna showing up but still… the dynamic didn’t feel as natural as it did in the first book which threw me off. Leoben is fantastic and I love his character so much. There is so much I want to elaborate on but again, no spoilers plus you probably wouldn’t be able to get me to shut up about it.

Final Thoughts
Overall, This Cruel Design by Emily Suvada is a cruel book. It emotionally messed with me because it was too fantastic and I don’t have the next one immediately in front of me. This book was so successful in creating an addiction to the story and the characters. There is so much that happens in this book that just kept the pages turning. Catarina is my everything and all the events she had been through were intense. I cannot wait until the next book comes out to see how the twists are going to turn out. I cannot in good conscious recommend this book if you’d like to not consume yourself in the obsession of this world. However, if you don’t care about being emotionally wrecked then I can totally recommend this book for you.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."