Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 543
beautiful story of family and finding yourself
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
DON’T DATE ROSA SANTOS is a sweet and touching book about family. Rosa lives with her grandmother, and she sees her mother every now and again as she arrives and leaves unexpectedly. Rosa’s family is thought to be cursed, as her grandfather drowned on the trip fleeing Cuba to America with her pregnant grandmother, who gave birth to her mother along the way. Her father disappeared to the sea when her mother was pregnant, and only his ship was ever found. Her mother and grandmother are rather tight-lipped about it all.

Rosa wants to connect with her heritage and has selected her college based on the availability of a study-abroad program in Cuba. She is not sure how her grandmother will take it, as it is one of the things they don’t discuss. Despite being a coastal town, Rosa has not spent much time around the water for fear of the curse. As the town needs to raise funds to prevent the marina from being bought out by upscale developers, Rosa proposes they have a cultural Latin American festival to raise money. As she gets into the planning, she is repeatedly paired up with Alex.

Alex (Alejandro) has left college and is back in town, working with his family and sailing- a fact that could make Rosa dangerous for him, if you believe in the family curse.

What I loved: This is really sweet story about family history and finding out who you are. The legacy of Rosa’s family has defined a lot of her life, and when the college that she planned to go to throws her a curveball, Rosa is left reconsidering her choices and why she has chosen the plan for herself that she has. I also really loved the representation of Latinx characters and the Latin American culture presented throughout. The relationships between characters, family and friends, were simply beautiful. This is a book which diverse audiences could easily connect with.

Final verdict: This is a lovely book about finding yourself, learning about family, and coming together. With beautiful writing that really connects the reader to the characters, this is a fantastic book for fans of Maurene Goo, Sandhya Menon, and Angie Thomas.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

How to Make Friends with the Dark
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Here is what happens when your mother dies. ...
Girl at Heart
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
As the daughter of a successful Major League pitcher, Charlie...
Serious Moonlight
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After an awkward first encounter, Birdie and Daniel are forced...
Sway
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kat Spears’s hilarious and often poignant debut, high school...
Scarlet Epstein Hates it Here
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Scarlett Epstein, BNF (Big Name Fan) in her online...
The Beautiful (The Beautiful, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Renée Ahdieh returns with...
The End and Other Beginnings: Stories from the Future
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling Divergent and Carve the Mark author Veronica Roth...
The Boy Who Dreamt the World
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Adam is living the dream, literally.... There are two...
Colliding Skies
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Since Skye Reilly can remember, she has been looking...
What Makes Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A viral video reveals a teen’s dark family history,...
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becks: How does a straight guy accidentally come out...
Take the Mic: Fictional Stories of Everyday Resistance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young adult anthology featuring fictional stories of everyday...
I Know When You're Going To Die
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leonardo Cantrell is a painfully shy sixteen-year-old who cannot look...
Dog and Rabbit
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A funny, sweet story of unrequited friendship from the creator...
I'm Not Dying with You Tonight
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lena and Campbell aren't friends. ...
Symptoms of a Heartbreak
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The youngest doctor in America, an Indian-American teen makes her...

Latest Member Reviews

Girl Gone Ghost
 
4.0
"Sonara is haunted by her dead best friend Magnolia, a victim of a local serial killer. Sonara doesn't know how..."
Twisted Saga Collection 1
 
4.0
"Cassie, Marley, Tyler and Eve were great characters with well developed backstories. I enjoyed the story, it did..."
THE GHOST CHRONICLES
 
3.8
"\\Michael Andrews has died in a fiery car accident. He is sentenced to continually walk the earth. Things start to..."
A Mortal Song
 
3.0
"Sora has been raised by the kami in Mt. Fuji and enjoys her life with her parents and her best..."
Kingdom of Embers
 
4.0
"What I Liked: This book is told from Alena’s POV, who is a half vampire, half witch, and her..."
Emerge: The Awakening (Book 1)
 
4.3
"Summary Allie was never really normal. For some reason, everyone seemed to recoil at her touch. Her parent’s job..."
Reap the Shadows (Steel & Stone Book 4)
 
4.7
"I don’t think I’ll ever not love this series. It came out of nowhere, demanded my attention and has kept..."
I Dream of Fire
 
4.3
"The story: Charlie Abbot lives in a dystopian world where “dreamers” are a precious national commodity. Dreamers, you see,..."
A Shade of Vampire 3: A Castle of Sand
 
5.0
"Beware of spoilers in this review, as A Castle of Sand is the third book in Bella Forest’s series, A..."
A Shade of Vampire 2: A Shade of Blood
 
5.0
"Beware of spoilers in this review, as A Shade of Blood is the second book in Bella Forest’s series, A..."
A Shade of Vampire
 
4.8
"I wasn’t sure what to expect when I first sat down to read Bella Forest’s A Shade of Vampire. I..."
A Mortal Song
 
4.8
"A Mortal Song by Megan Crewe The Story: Sora is a Kami, one of the mythical beings who..."
ORDER OF SEVEN
 
4.0
"Order of Seven was an original story with a rich mythology and neck-breaking pace. What I liked This crossover..."
THE GHOST CHRONICLES
 
4.5
"Michael Andrews has everything going for him—basketball scholarship, loving family, beautiful girlfriend, vintage Mustang—on the verge of his high school..."
The Urban Boys: Discovery of the Five Senses
 
5.0
"In the small town of Danville Heights, five teenage boys lived their lives as usual: they went to high school..."
The Urban Boys: Discovery of the Five Senses
 
5.0
"The brotherly bond of five teenage boys is tested when they are exposed to an energy source that heightens their..."
A Raven's Touch
 
3.5
"Justice St. Michaels has a secret. So secret, in fact, she doesn’t even know it. All of that changes when..."
Emerge: The Awakening (Book 1)
 
4.5
"I was hooked from the first page an unwilling to put this book down. Its an innovative and unique story..."
Haeven
 
5.0
"Another great book by this author. The story is wonderful, the characters fun and entertaining. I like that..."
Emerge: The Awakening (Book 1)
 
4.5
"Fifteen-year-old Allie isn't exactly a social butterfly, but then her parents move every few months and for some reason, people..."