Review Detail

Maybe This Time Featured
Young Adult Fiction 3164
Year Round Flowers
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Sophie is bound and determined to make it out of her small Alabama town and attend design school in New York City for college. To earn money, she is working at a florists, and since the town is small, the owner also does a lot of event planning, and Sophie must go along to help. Her best friend, Micah, is often at these events, since her father is the local caterer. Since business is difficult, he has applied to have Jett Harte, a former television chef and personality, mentor his business for a year in exchange for a share of it when the business is doing better. This would be fine, except that Jett is a bit of a difficult diva, and his son, Andrew, isn't any better. Smug, privileged, and very sure of himself, Andrew introduces himself to Sophie by messing up some of her arrangements, and almost all of their interactions end poorly. The book follows the calendar of events through the year, so we start at Valentine's Day at the local senior center, hit Mother's Day celebrations, weddings, and end up at Thanksgiving dinner. At each event, we can track Sophie's progress at college and scholarship applications, get a glimpse of her difficult family life, and watch as she and Andrew spar and get into trouble on the job. Micah thinks that the two have a spark, but Sophie is too determined to make her college dreams come true to focus on a romance with a boy who is often annoying. Is Micah a better judge of character than her friend?
Good Points
Kasie West writes intriguing high school romances that also appeal to middle school students, due to their lack of sexual references and other more mature themes. The settings are usually more grown up, with the main characters having jobs and other responsibilities. This is a hard combination to find, and readers who enjoy Jennifer Colasanti, Sarah Dessen and Jennifer E. Smith will find these books a great way to wile away a summer day.

The small Alabama town, with its cast of quirky characters, is a fun setting against which to place a variety of celebrations. From a town picnic to a local fall festival, Sophie gets to work with her friends during amusing events. Who doesn't want to spend time at a senior citizens' Valentine celebration, or at a New Year's Eve barn dance, especially when there is the promise of romance in the air?

Micah is a great friend, and I love to see teens with jobs they enjoy. Even though Sophie's passion is fashion design, she channels her creative energy into the floral arrangements. Andrew is a bit of a mystery, and a decent guy whose quirky father is inordinately difficult. I'm not usually a fan of the Cybil Shepard/Bruce Willis Moonlighting sort of romance, where the characters hate each other and fight all the time but eventually fall in love. This isn't quite like that; Sophie and Andrew just get off on the wrong foot and can't seem to get their bearings with each other.

Romance books are always popular, and Maybe This Time takes the reader along for a year of festive celebrations where hard work and romantic possibilities go hand in hand, and are even accompanied by a corsage!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Be a Voter!: 450 Stickers for Democracy
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Get out the vote! It’s...
I Believe In You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A charming picture book that inspires confidence, boosts self-esteem, and...
The Glass Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Once Upon a Time meets Game of Thrones in book...
Meanwhile
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate 10 years of this completely original graphic novel take...
Grant Beagan: The Finder's Code
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s just an ordinary teenager who likes astronomy, video games,...
Fisher- Price Fun in the Jungle: Explore, Touch, and Feel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Children will love exploring the different textures in this playful...
Glitter Globes: The Night Before Christmas
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
On the night before Christmas, all over the house, not...
Belinda Fellgate: HellCat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A contemporary teen fantasy about an inept 14-year-old girl who...
Breathless
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Jennifer Niven, the #1 New York Times bestselling author...
Music for Tigers
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Shipped halfway around the world to spend the summer...
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A broken world. An overwhelming evil. ...
Kingdom of Ice and Bone (The Frozen Sun Saga, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lira and Reyker have lost everything. Including each other....
Sword of the Seven Sins
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Eva Marteinn never wanted to be a killer. Raised...
Things That Should Stay Buried
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Some destinies are written in the stars. Others must...
How It All Blew Up
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda goes to Italy...
Horrid
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of You Must Not Miss comes...

Latest Member Reviews

Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Edgeland
 
3.3
"A Middle Grade fantasy with some dystopian and supernatural appeal. The island of Edgeland sits on the..."
Chasing Before (The Memory Chronicles #2)
 
4.0
"What I Liked: First things first, you should know that Lenore is one of my besties. I know some people..."
More Than This
 
3.3
"What I Liked: After finally reading Ness' The Knife of Never Letting Go a month or so ago, I was..."
Level 2 (The Memory Chronicles #1)
 
2.3
"First Thoughts: I wasn't sure what to excpect from this book. I thought the blurb sounded really ineresting, so..."
Level 2 (The Memory Chronicles #1)
 
3.3
"When I saw the summary for Level 2 back in early December, my reaction went something like this: “Yes! I..."
Level 2 (The Memory Chronicles #1)
 
2.0
"You know how sometimes you really want to like a book or just kind of expect that you will because..."
Level 2 (The Memory Chronicles #1)
 
3.7
"Just to clear up the confusion, Level 2 and The Memory After are the same book. Now onto..."
Level 2 (The Memory Chronicles #1)
 
4.7
"Background: Felicia is dead and reliving her life through her memories, she is not sure where in the afterlife she..."
Level 2 (The Memory Chronicles #1)
 
3.7
"Level 2 has an awesome idea (as well as a brilliant, bad-ass cover). It's no secret that the afterlife genre..."
Level 2 (The Memory Chronicles #1)
 
2.7
"When I got this one in the mail, I was so excited to start reading it because I had heard..."
Level 2 (The Memory Chronicles #1)
 
3.0
"Originally posted at: http://perrytheplatypus1102-3daydreamer3.blogspot.com/ My Review: Rating: 3.5 0f 5 stars **I received..."
Level 2 (The Memory Chronicles #1)
 
4.7
"I love afterlife stories. They all are so unique and vastly different from one another, but Level 2 by Lenore..."
Level 2 (The Memory Chronicles #1)
 
4.0
"The first awesome thing about Level 2 is the world building, which is multi-faceted and complex. She reveals new layers..."