Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 2176
Martial Arts and Domestic Abuse
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Eddie McGuire is a talented high school wrestler with a horribly short fuse. This is no doubt a result of the abuse he endured from his father early in his life, but his father has been in jail for eight years. Eddie (or Mac) and his mother barely get by, and he's hoping to get a college scholarship and be able to one day get a good job and help his mother out. When a ref at a tournament makes him angry, he lets a punch fly, and just like that, his chances of college are gone. Not only that, but he may be looking at jail time. Detective Harrow, who helped lock his father up, comes to the family and tells them what is going on. Mac doesn't see any other way out, and decides to run away. He is quickly approached by people who knew his father and have been following his wrestling career. The promoter runs the Brawlers, an illegal group that stages violent, no-holds-barred fights around town and makes a lot of money off the betting. This is as good an opportunity as any for a teen on the run, and Mac is soon ensconced in the home of Khajee and her elderly uncle. The two owe the promoter, and Khajee trains Mac while she goes to school and Mac keeps an eye on the uncle, Than. While he is a good wrestler, Mac doesn't know much about martial arts, but Khajee manages to train him enough that his underlying anger makes him a powerful opponent. He tries to get money to his mother, who desperately wants him to come home. He is also given the chance to make peace with his father, although this ends in a terrifying scene of violence, with the father being on the receiving end for a change. After the decline and death of Than, Mac realizes that he can' stay on the run forever, and he tries to figure out what to do with his life.
Good Points
While this book is definitely violent, with lots of scenes in the ring as well as the beat down Mac delivers to his father, it does not have much bad language, and has no sexual activity or other things that would make it objectionable to middle grade readers. This is a very hard thing to do, but I always appreciate it. Some middle school students want books that are fairly dark, and this is a great choice for readers who like Carl Deuker's titles (especially the 2005 Runner), Volponi's Black and White, and Alphin's Counterfeit Son. These books all have characters who fight against overwhelming odds as best they can.

It is refreshing that Mac and Khajee never slip into a romantic relationship. They are both teens dealing with adult problems, and they support each other and help each other out without complicating matters. Khajee is a great athlete and shows Mac that he can learn a lot from her. Watching the two of them try to care for Than was heartbreaking and showed that with all of their problems, they were both very mature.

Certainly, there are some things in the book that seem odd. Would Khajee's uncle really be indebted to the promoter to the point where both of their lives were held in thrall to him? Would Mac really have been able to run away, stay close to home, and not have been found by the police? Would he have been able to visit and beat up his father? I believed the motivation for that-- Mac hasn't gotten any counseling for his anger issues (also realistic, since his mother was struggling so much), and when presented with an opportunity to beat up his father, I can see him wanting to do that.

Brawler is an unusual book that adds a sports twist to a book that has a feel similar to spy books, has sympathetic characters in dire circumstances, and that will speak to teen readers who want a book that makes their own lives seem happy in comparison!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 4 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...

Latest Member Reviews

Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, & Change
 
4.0
"What worked: Fascination collection of essays that show the impact of the year 1789 in the world.In this anthology, twelve..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."