Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1112
darkly haunting and spell-binding
(Updated: April 05, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
HOUSE OF SALT AND SORROWS is an elegant and enchanting dark YA fantasy. Fans of the 12 Dancing Princesses will be delighted by this deliciously haunting retelling. Annaleigh is the sixth of twelve daughters whose lives have been filled with death. On the islands where they live and her father currently holds the dukedom, the eldest child inherits, whether or not they are male. Annaleigh never imagined she would be in a viable position to inherit, and she has been completely shocked by the events that have led to her having only one older sister, Camille, left. As the four before her have died, Annaleigh suspects that she or Camille are next.

The deaths began with the loss of their mother after childbirth and have continued for so many years that the mourning customs have been their only customs. The series of deaths have led the people around them to believe that the Thaumus family is cursed. However, Annaleigh looks beyond the deaths to suspect murder. As she investigates, stranger and stranger happenings have her second-guessing herself and everything she sees and knows.

With her new stepmother expecting and the shroud of sorrow hanging over the family for so long, everyone but Annaleigh is eager to move on and forget the past. When they find a portal that will take them anywhere, the sisters are all ready to adorn their beautiful gowns and shoes and dance all night at elegant balls. However, Annaleigh is focused on discovering who might be targeting their family before it is too late. With twists and turns and a handsome love interest, this book is completely spell-binding.

Annaleigh is a beautifully crafted character and easy to relate to. Through her eyes, we witness the (at times) horrors and mysteries that shroud the Thaumus family. This is easily a book which kept me up at night turning pages and is difficult to put down. The premise is expertly executed, capturing the 12 Dancing Princesses in a unique and completely fascinating way. As one of my favorite fairytales, I had high expectations, and they were completely met and exceeded.

In terms of the love interest for Annaleigh, this felt a little insta-love-ish, and I was on-board later in the story, though I had a hard time getting into them as a couple. I would have either liked more build up to the romance or for it to be excluded (there is certainly enough else to keep the reader’s eager attention). Other than that, the book has a fantastic build to a twisty and perfect conclusion. The setting is lyrically crafted and absolutely ideal for this dark and spell-binding story. Everything is wrapped up so well at the end also- what a perfect stand-alone novel!

I highly recommend for people who like horror/thrillers, mysteries, fantasy, and dark fairytale retellings. I would add warnings for murders, suicide, and mental illness. Perfect for fans of WINTERSONG and THE WHITE STAG.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Pawns (The Wielders of Arantha)
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Seven hundred years in the future, a powerful alien...
Perfectly Oblivious
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Cameron Bates (Cam) could have almost any girl at...
By Any Means Necessary
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Heart-wrenchingly honest, fans of Brandy Colbert and Nicola Yoon...
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Annie and Lee were just children when a brutal...
Into the Crooked Place (Into the Crooked Place, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Into the Crooked Place begins a gritty two-book YA...
The Rift
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
As corporate greed is pitted against supernatural forces, two...
The Light at the Bottom of the World (The Light at the Bottom of the World, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the last days of the twenty-first century, sea creatures...
Conceal, Don't Feel (Twisted Tales, #7)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if Anna and Elsa never knew each other? ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling Divergent and Carve the Mark author Veronica Roth delivers...
Bernard Pepperlin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The drowsy Dormouse from Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland...
Vicarious
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Paula Stokes weaves together a series of mysteries and the...
The Bookworm Crush
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This spinoff of The Replacement Crush featuring Amy and Toff...
The Unexpected Everything
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Andie must learn to embrace the beauty in chaos in...
What I Like About You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can a love triangle have only two people in it?...
The Kinder Poison
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the magical kingdom of Orkena, Zahru has long dreamed...
Scared Little Rabbits
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
We stand in a tight cluster, high above the lake....

Latest Member Reviews

Warcross
 
5.0
""Warcross" begins a fantastic new YA series from Marie Lu. Fans of the Legend trilogy will rejoice in this new,..."
Warcross
 
5.0
"Hello you guys! So I have read a few more books that I want to review (one is a reread)..."
Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons #2)
 
5.0
"BATMAN: NIGHTWALKER is all about Bruce's lifestyle before becoming Batman. With his parents dead, Bruce has come into a lot..."
Warcross
 
4.7
"I have never played the kinds of games mentioned in this book, or even anything similar, so I was a..."
Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons #2)
 
3.7
"I will admit, Batman is not my favourite hero but I love Marie Lu so I was excited to see..."
Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons #2)
 
4.0
"I am in love! The DC Icon series is turning me into a fan of superheroes, and Marie Lu's take..."
The Young Elites (The Young Elites #1)
 
3.7
"The Young Elites is a series best read cold--knowing anything about the plot might elicit expectations that won't be met...."
The Midnight Star (The Young Elites #3)
 
4.7
"I only discovered the phenomenal The Young Elites series a few months ago, so I didn’t have long to wait..."
The Rose Society (The Young Elites #2)
 
5.0
"I did not expect The Rose Society to be this amazing. Everyone told me that it was, both on Goodreads..."
The Young Elites (The Young Elites #1)
 
4.3
"Marie Lu’s newest series The Young Elites was everything I had hoped from her and more, and I want to..."
The Young Elites (The Young Elites #1)
 
4.7
"Adelina is only 16 and is a malfetto, someone who survived the blood fever and now has markings. Hers are..."
The Young Elites (The Young Elites #1)
 
3.5
" I wanted to read The Young Elites because I read and loved her Legend series. The..."
Legend
 
4.3
" I wanted to read this one because I have been in a string of contemporaries, and..."
The Young Elites (The Young Elites #1)
 
4.3
"MY THOUGHTS This book was definitely not what I was expecting. I didn't like this book as much as..."
Prodigy (Legend #2)
 
5.0
"I'm sure I'm not the only one who feels a little concerned when they pick up the second book in..."
Legend
 
4.3
"Love it love it love it!!! If you love dystopeas as much as I do, then this will probably..."
The Young Elites (The Young Elites #1)
 
3.7
"Characters & Relationships: the thing that I most liked about this book is the complexity of its characters, they aren't..."
Champion ( Legend #3)
 
5.0
"WARNING! THIS REVIEW WILL BE A SPOILERY MESS!!!!!! If you want a non-spoilery review, wait until this weekend when I..."
Legend
 
3.0
"For me, Legend was a fast-paced, entertaining novel, but not a particularly good novel. I thought this was something like..."
Champion ( Legend #3)
 
4.3
"The final book of the Legend series does not disappoint. Lu has once again been able to keep this..."