Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 401
Enthralling YA fantasy
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE SOUL OF POWER is a strong conclusion in The Waking Land trilogy. While the first book focused on Elanna (El) and the second on Jahan, this third book is all about Sophy Dunbarron, now the queen of Eren and Caeris. This book requires the context of the first two to really get into and thus does not work as a stand-alone. Eren and Caeris were countries once together but have separated becoming enemies and having one conquer the other. They were both under the power of Paladis, and sorcery has been outlawed/thought to be evil.

El, the Caveadear or steward of the land, has awakened the land and participated in the rebellion of the people against the then rulers. Now, installing Sophy and fighting against neighboring kingdoms, she is captured by Paladis and their Witch Hunters. Sophy has already sent Jahan to Paladis as ambassador, and her hold on the people is tenuous with hatred between Ereni and Caerisians still lying under the surface. As Sophy tries to navigate the political landscape, she must worry about other rebellions and dissatisfactions- and the secret she carries.

As tensions continue to rise, Sophy is increasingly aware of the difficulties of ruling. She must decide not only what is best for the people but also for herself as she fills the role she was raised to fill. While the characters from previous books are present here, there are many new characters and/or old characters who are now given larger roles, that are completely enchanting. This whole series is filled with extraordinarily well-crafted people who leap off the page in their descriptions and mannerisms. Each book has completely brought me into this realm.

This book has less romance than in the past, as Sophy is already with Alistair. Her main objectives are career-related (if we can call ruling the country as such), and this is always refreshing in the YA literature. The world is so well-crafted that it is easy to imagine and completely enthralling, much in the way of high fantasy books like Lord of the Rings. This whole series has been such a fascinating and engaging ride that I highly recommend for people who like YA or adult fantasy, and especially for fans of The Girl of Fire and Thorns series.

Overall, this is a great finale in a fantastic series, and I highly recommend you read it from start to finish. With beautifully crafted characters and amazing world-building, The Waking Land trilogy is a wonderfully enthralling journey. I would add warnings for rape (past/not in detail), sexism, torture (not described in detail), and gruesome deaths.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Where the World Ends
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Winner of the 2018 Carnegie Medal! New from Michael L....
Carnevil (Monsterstreet #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Fast, funny, frightening—and filled with shocks and surprises. These books...
Prophecy Untold (Shadow Realms book 3)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finding out my mother was taken by the demons...
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut about first love and second...
Six Goodbyes We Never Said
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Two teens meet after tragedy and learn about love,...
Golden Crown
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
No longer only a warrior. Not just a queen....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first vampire. The last Nephilim. The end...
The Galactic Adventures of Hazel - Gurecoa
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
What is it like to live in 4519 AD...
Batman: Nightwalker (The Graphic Novel)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
This action-packed graphic novel based on the New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Rose Hemmersbach aspires to break out of small town...
Stuffed
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome, little one. You have been chosen to join us,...
Merged
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seven of our country’s most gifted teens will become Nobels,...

Latest Member Reviews

Where the World Ends
 
3.0
"WHERE THE WORLD ENDS is an intriguing historical fiction, based on a true story. The boys of Hirta are sent..."
Bury Me
 
4.7
"In horror books and movies, we often see dolls as the main source of scares( such as Annabelle or Child's..."
Juliet Takes a Breath
 
4.7
"Juliet Takes a Breath is a coming of age story about a Latina lesbian from the Bronx who travels to..."
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
5.0
"Fireborne is a fantasy novel set nine years after a bloody uprising against a brutal regime in which the poor..."
Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"i am from Italy hello. Can you help me translate? /rardor"
The Galactic Adventures of Hazel - Gurecoa
 
3.0
"THE GALACTIC ADVENTURES OF HAZEL - GURECOA takes place in the far future, where our planet is only vaguely recognizable...."
Batman: Nightwalker (The Graphic Novel)
 
4.3
"BATMAN: NIGHTWALKER (THE GRAPHIC NOVEL) converts the YA novel by Marie Lu into graphic novel format. The plot remains the..."
Adorkable
 
5.0
"ADORKABLE is a book you can easily predict, but the journey is unbelievably delightful. Sally Spitz is a senior in..."
Six Goodbyes We Never Said
 
3.3
"SIX GOODBYES WE NEVER SAID is quite a heavy YA contemporary. We follow Naima and Dew in alternating sections. Naima..."
Wilder Girls
 
4.7
" THIS WAS INCREDIBLE. This book reads like BUTTER...… Moldy, rotten, disgusting butter,..."
The Beautiful (The Beautiful, #1)
 
4.0
"After killing a man in Paris, Celine is forced to flee to a different country and finds herself in New..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
5.0
"Guinevere has one role to play when she arrives in Camelot. She has to protect King Arthur with her life...."
Unstoppable Moses: A Novel
 
3.3
"UNSTOPPABLE MOSES is quite an interesting YA contemporary. With dark humor, grief/healing, and guilt/blame, this book takes on some big..."
The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein
 
4.0
"The most amazing thing about classic horror stories is how they still influence many writers today. To read 'the..."
Patron Saints of Nothing
 
4.3
"After learning that his cousin Jun (his best friend and penpal) has died, Jay Reguero heads back to visit his..."
Now Entering Addamsville
 
3.7
"Zora Novak has been accused of a crime she didn't commit. It doesn't help that her family are known as..."
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
5.0
"Fireborne is a fantasy novel set nine years after a bloody uprising against a brutal regime in which the poor..."
Ruthless Gods (Something Dark and Holy, #2)
 
5.0
"RUTHLESS GODS is dark, atmospheric, and completely enchanting. It was everything I hoped a sequel to WICKED SAINTS would be..."
The Babysitters Coven
 
3.3
"What worked: This is a quirky, humorous at times paranormal novel where a babysitter's club is really a code name..."
Dangerous Alliance
 
4.0
"Lady Victoria 'Vicky' Aston has a good life. Her older sister is married to a charming Viscount; her family estate..."