Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 305
thrilling feminism
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
WE RULE THE NIGHT is an engaging YA fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Revna works in a factory town, making war machines and related materials. She keeps her head down and follows the rules because her father was branded a traitor and her family status demoted, making their survival less likely. Despite the fact that her father made her legs of living metal, a strong and somewhat sentient substance, most people cannot look past the lack of her natural legs, which were lost in an accident when she was young.

Since then, this disability has inspired her to secretly work with the Weave, a type of forbidden magic that alters the world and can cause tangles which may have far-reaching consequences. When her town is bombed by the Eldans, she uses the Weave to save her life- and that of a Skarov, a type of intelligence officer which is known for extracting confessions with torture, knowing that she is dooming herself to a worse fate for the illegal action. However, instead of condemning her, she is offered a place in a new regiment and that doing so will reinstate her mother and sister's status.

Linne is the daughter of a famous commander in the war. For the last three years, she has posed as the male, Alexei, and fought in the war. Women are not allowed to fight. When she is discovered, they offer her a choice- to join a new fighting group in the war, composed of women and using the illegal Weave. Knowing the other options are worse in her mind, Linne agrees but is unhappy to find the other women in her regiment are not soldiers.

The women train to fly aircraft that is undesirable (the better aircraft goes to the men) and must fight against sexism and sexual harassment at every turn. They are assembled in teams of three, a pilot who manipulates the Weave, the navigator who powers the aircraft with Spark (an acceptable type of magic), and an engineer who works on the weapons and keeps the aircraft running but stays on the ground. Due to the other women's reluctance to work with them (Linne for her personality and Revna for her disability), Linne is the navigator paired with the pilot Revna. Although they detest each other, they hate the idea of not being able to fly. As they begin to fly missions- exciting and terrible- they slowly grow to respect each other.

With twists and turns and all the trappings of a terrible war, this book is about an unlikely friendship and feminism. Between Linne and Revna, we witness many sides of the story and the world they live in. The beginning of the book moves slowly, especially as we piece together all the ways this world is unique and the many characters within it. About halfway through, the pace picks up, and I found myself highly engaged through to the end. It gets pretty dark and the end has a bit of a cliffhanger, as I assume that it will be continued in the next book, but I really enjoyed it overall. It is an emotional and intense read, and I really became enthralled with the two main characters, who are each so strong and unique. I cannot wait to see where this story will go.

This book is unique in so many ways- a world which I have never seen, a lack of romance, and so on. In a highly engaging and original story, these characters completely wormed their way into my heart as they did to each other. I wish I had the next book so I could see where this will go. I highly recommend for lovers of YA fantasy- this is one you will definitely want to pick up!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In his fiction debut--and the start of a new series--celebrated...
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a boy receives a gift box from his uncle...
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Manners don’t come naturally to everyone! But did you know...
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable spooky twist on "The Teeny Tiny Woman" that's...
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Caldecott Honor Book An...
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a family car gets a flat on the way...
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In cut-paper artist Nikki McClure’s latest picture book, a kitten...
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Three BFFs set out to have the BEST SUMMER EVER...
Finding Esme
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Esme’s life changes when she discovers dinosaur bones on...
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join these happy pumpkins in a cheerful rhyming countdown, in...
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Set on the shores of Lake Superior, Wreck follows high...
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Benji and Red couldn't be more different. They aren't friends....

Latest Member Reviews

A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."
Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
"My Fate According to the Butterfly is probably the first Middle Grade novel I’ve read in a very long time...."
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
"In THE ROUGH PATCH, Evan's best friend is his dog, and they do everything together. Author and illustrator Brian Lies..."
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
"HOW TO BE A CAT is an elegant book of verbs. Two cats give actions throughout their day, including scratch,..."
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
"SUNNY'S TOW TRUCK SAVES THE DAY! is a delightful picture book about a family on their way to picnic who..."
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
"TBH, IDK WHAT'S NEXT follows four best friends over their summer before seventh grade. They are all determined to have..."
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
"FIVE LITTLE PUMPKINS ON HALLOWEEN NIGHT is a cute board book that celebrates Halloween with a counting of pumpkins! In..."
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
"THE MADMAN OF PINEY WOODS follows two young boys in Canada as their lives are changing and intersecting. Benji Alston..."
Wintercake
 
4.0
"WINTERCAKE is a lovely picture book that celebrates friendship and the holiday spirit. Thomas is about to make a wintercake..."
Roar Like a Dandelion
 
4.0
"A unique alphabet book, ROAR LIKE A DANDELION is filled with instructional that are sure to spark some giggles. Each..."
The Bear and the Star
 
4.5
"THE BEAR AND THE STAR is an elegant, Christmas-style book. Bear knows that it is time and so he finds..."
I Do Not Like That Name
 
4.0
"I DO NOT LIKE THAT NAME features a girl, Sophie, and her rabbit, Herb, as they order an elephant from..."
The Love Letter
 
5.0
"Lovely, endearing, and heartfelt, THE LOVE LETTER demonstrates the power of telling someone how much you care. Hedgehog, Bunny, and..."
The Wobbly Waitress
 
3.5
"THE WOBBLY WAITRESS is a silly read that will make young children giggle. Mabel is a giraffe waitress at the..."