Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 612
thrilling feminism
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
WE RULE THE NIGHT is an engaging YA fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Revna works in a factory town, making war machines and related materials. She keeps her head down and follows the rules because her father was branded a traitor and her family status demoted, making their survival less likely. Despite the fact that her father made her legs of living metal, a strong and somewhat sentient substance, most people cannot look past the lack of her natural legs, which were lost in an accident when she was young.

Since then, this disability has inspired her to secretly work with the Weave, a type of forbidden magic that alters the world and can cause tangles which may have far-reaching consequences. When her town is bombed by the Eldans, she uses the Weave to save her life- and that of a Skarov, a type of intelligence officer which is known for extracting confessions with torture, knowing that she is dooming herself to a worse fate for the illegal action. However, instead of condemning her, she is offered a place in a new regiment and that doing so will reinstate her mother and sister's status.

Linne is the daughter of a famous commander in the war. For the last three years, she has posed as the male, Alexei, and fought in the war. Women are not allowed to fight. When she is discovered, they offer her a choice- to join a new fighting group in the war, composed of women and using the illegal Weave. Knowing the other options are worse in her mind, Linne agrees but is unhappy to find the other women in her regiment are not soldiers.

The women train to fly aircraft that is undesirable (the better aircraft goes to the men) and must fight against sexism and sexual harassment at every turn. They are assembled in teams of three, a pilot who manipulates the Weave, the navigator who powers the aircraft with Spark (an acceptable type of magic), and an engineer who works on the weapons and keeps the aircraft running but stays on the ground. Due to the other women's reluctance to work with them (Linne for her personality and Revna for her disability), Linne is the navigator paired with the pilot Revna. Although they detest each other, they hate the idea of not being able to fly. As they begin to fly missions- exciting and terrible- they slowly grow to respect each other.

With twists and turns and all the trappings of a terrible war, this book is about an unlikely friendship and feminism. Between Linne and Revna, we witness many sides of the story and the world they live in. The beginning of the book moves slowly, especially as we piece together all the ways this world is unique and the many characters within it. About halfway through, the pace picks up, and I found myself highly engaged through to the end. It gets pretty dark and the end has a bit of a cliffhanger, as I assume that it will be continued in the next book, but I really enjoyed it overall. It is an emotional and intense read, and I really became enthralled with the two main characters, who are each so strong and unique. I cannot wait to see where this story will go.

This book is unique in so many ways- a world which I have never seen, a lack of romance, and so on. In a highly engaging and original story, these characters completely wormed their way into my heart as they did to each other. I wish I had the next book so I could see where this will go. I highly recommend for lovers of YA fantasy- this is one you will definitely want to pick up!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s...
The Winter Duke
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She survived the curse. Now she must survive the throne....
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold...
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...

Latest Member Reviews

Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
"MOST LIKELY is a fantastic YA contemporary about friendship. The book starts with a woman becoming president and reflecting back..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."