Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1003
engaging and exciting YA fantasy
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
BEWARE THE NIGHT was an intriguing YA fantasy that follows Veda, a seventeen-year-old Basso who lives on the island of Bellona. Bellona is divided strongly by socioeconomic status with the Basso being the oppressed poor and the Dogio are the wealthy, ruling class. The people are taught to worship the Sun and make routine sacrifices of life to the Sun to keep them safe from the Night. The Night is the rebellion who frequently attacks (only the Basso) and keeps taking Basso who are never seen again.

Veda is friends with a wealthy Dogio, Nico, and they take care of each other. Nico is increasingly conflicted by the way the Dogio live as he spends time with Veda and sees the stark differences in treatment and food availability. Veda is developing a crush on him, but it is impossible. On a fishing day (supervised by the Dogio but a chance to get a little food for your family), she sees a boy from her cildhood and finds him also intriguing (love triangle style).

The book is slow-building with lots of mystery and reveals that keep you eagerly turning pages. Overall, I really enjoyed the book and definitely found it difficult to put down. I found the beginning to be a little slow and got lost in the telling a few times as this new world is built. There is a lot to learn about the way the island works and all the major players. Once it really starts moving, it flies, and I found myself lost (in the good way) in this story and the characters. I really liked Veda and enjoyed her point-of-view. I have a feeling we might get some other points-of-view in future books based on the ending, and I am so excited to get into these other characters. This book is really intriguing, and I definitely want to continue with the series.

I recommend for fans of YA fantasy/dystopian. This is a great new book/series, and I look forward to continuing with it (hopefully soon)!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

The Row
 
4.3
"This book is one of the books I've been looking forward to reading. Even since I read the book description..."
Insomnia (The Night Walkers #1)
 
3.7
"MY THOUGHTS Every night Parker has other people's dreams and it's slowly killing him. It has been years since he's..."
Insomnia (The Night Walkers #1)
 
4.0
"A chilling thriller about a boy who enters the dreams of the last person he made eye contact with and..."
Insomnia (The Night Walkers #1)
 
3.0
"Insomnia started out with my full attention; Parker’s ability to visit people in their dreams and the toll it was..."
Insomnia (The Night Walkers #1)
 
4.0
"Ooh, INSOMNIA was one of those books that pulled me right in. I love the premise of a teen..."
Insomnia (The Night Walkers #1)
 
4.0
" Insomnia brings something new and original to the table, and it is an addicting read. I didn't..."