Review Detail

Again, But Better FeaturedHot
Young Adult Fiction 3269
Reboot Your Life
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Shane is halfway through her junior year in college in 2011, and she's not happy. Stuck in a premed major her parents have forced upon her, she has no social life and is unable to follow her real passion, writing. She applies to a study abroad program in London, lies to her parents about having a medical internship, and heads off for adventure. It's a huge improvement over her old, never-been-kissed life. She makes good friends with her roommates, meets cute boys, and heads off to Rome for a weekend right away. Her internship at Packed! For Travel! starts off brilliantly with her boss being impressed with her blog and giving her an article to write. The travel, hanging out, and romance all tick along, although there is a wrinkle when she finds out that her crush, Pilot, already has a girlfriend. Still, there's lots to do, and pubs to visit, and Shane knows that she has made a good choice. However, when her parents visit unexpectedly and her cover is blown, they are furious. Her father refuses to spend big bucks so that she can be an unemployed writer, and makes her return home immediately. We catch up with her in 2017, when she has finished medical school and is ready for her residency, but still regrets the past. She meets up with Pilot, and the two get stuck in an elevator... that takes them back to London in 2011. Shane has the chance to do everything all over again. She and Pilot decide they should be together, since Shane is tired of Amy in 2017, but their relationship causes other wrinkle, like messing up her writing internship. Shane gets a chance to reboot her life and make different choices, but it's hard to tell when one seemingly small change might change everything... and not for the better.
Good Points
As with any time travel book, the time travel mechanism is important, and I did like the omnipresent barista who ended up overseeing Shane's life, and the elevator that takes Shane and Pilot back in time. Haven't we all suspected elevators can do that? It's interesting to see two people who know what the future brings trying to navigate the world with that knowledge in mind, and they both have slightly different visions for what 2017 should become.

The details about studying abroad in London are what makes this really worth reading. Travel, dorms, even shopping for groceries at Tesco are all things that would have been completely enthralling to me when I was in high school or early college. It's even better that Shane is happy about being in London, since too many books involving foreign exchanges are a bit whiny.

As an adult who understands Shane's father's reluctance to pay big bucks for a creative writing degree, I found it a bit hard to understand why Shane was unhappy in 2017. She'd made it through the hard part of medical school, she had a serious boyfriend, and we can assume her parents are happy with her. She wants to throw this all away to go back to Pilot, who wants to be a musician? Not quite getting this situation, but certainly can understand wanting to go back and change the past!

Readers who loved the time travel in Mlynowski's Gimme a Call or Asher's The Future of Us, and who want a college aged protagonist who just wants to be kissed and have a beer or two at a pub will enjoy Again, But Better. Maybe it will even help them get their life right the first time around, since we really aren't given second chances!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 1

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Handpicked by Amazon kids’ books editor, Seira Wilson, for Prime...
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Gray Malin’s menagerie of wild animals for a stay...
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Hattie the magician―she’s a natural performer, and you’re invited...
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When spring arrives, baby animals come out to play with...
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The delightful follow-up to When Dimple Met Rishi and There’s...
The Child of Chaos
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is what fantasy fiction should be." --Piers Anthony, New...

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found