Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1116
The Disturbed Girl's Dictionary
(Updated: January 31, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What worked: This is an amazing glimpse into the life of Macy. Others say she's 'disturbed', but she's the kind of friend you'd want in your corner. Macy shows her life in dictionary entries. At times they're hilarious and at other times bittersweet as she holds nothing back.

Macy deals with a lot in her life. Her father is in prison, her younger brother has been taken by child protection services, and her BFF Alma isn't talking. There's so much to love about this story. Macy is brutally honest on how she sees her world. Sure to resonate with readers. Totally love how protagonist Macy shows her life through her own 'dictionary'.

Macy's story is at times hilarious, but so heartfelt and raw with her honesty. Bittersweet. I got teary eyed on the scene where Macy sees her younger brother again, after her mother makes a decision on his fate. She tries to be strong, but it's hard. Another scene that was really hard had to be following Alma to the choice she makes in her life. This choice is so sad.

Raw, bittersweet story with an amazing heroine who everyone will want to be their friend. This story will stand with readers long after they finish. Trust me on that one. I really wanted to hug Macy.
Good Points
1. Raw, unflinching
2. Macy is hilarious with her honesty
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s...
The Winter Duke
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She survived the curse. Now she must survive the throne....
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold...
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...

Latest Member Reviews

On the Edge with Coolhead Luke (Coolhead Luke)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Lavanya Karthik After the success of their first book Coolhead Luke and other Stories, the Whites..."
On the Edge with Coolhead Luke (Coolhead Luke)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Wendy Thomas What a fun and inventive ride On the Edge with Coolhead Luke takes you on. From..."
Coolhead Luke: And Other Stories (Coolhead Luke)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Molly Martin, Midwest Book Review Entertaining and packed with excitement the compilation offered on the pages of..."
On the Edge with Coolhead Luke (Coolhead Luke)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Gayle Trent: examiner.com I highly recommend this book. Not only are the poems and illustrations funny and..."