Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1273
Give The Dark My Love
(Updated: January 05, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Seventeen-year-old Nedra Brysstain leaves her small village to study medicinal alchemy at the famous Yugen Academy. She wants to be able to help find a cure for the plague that has been killing so many people. While there she meets "Grey" Astor. They grow close, but when the plague strikes close to home, Nedra is more determined to find a cure. What she ends up deciding is both chilling and haunting.

What worked: This book has everything I love from author Revis's writing: memorable characters, intensity, emotion-packed action, and a plot that keeps readers turning the pages. I was totally hooked and was up early in the morning reading until I finished.

There are some very intense, haunting scenes that involve Nedra's involvement with the poor and their exposure to the plague. Nedra doesn't flinch when asked for her help at the hospital that tries to help the poor plague victims. She's determined,strong, and courageous.

Grey falls for Nedra and tries to be there for her. He stands up to the class bully who tries to intimidate Nedra. There's hints of romance, but when the plague closes down the academy and Nedra goes back home, she faces the horror of the illness first hand. These scenes are very strong and heart wrenching. How Nedra harvests her grief is haunting and powerful. Plus, her final decision and the reveal of who really is behind releasing the plague, is one that I didn't see coming. And that ending hook? Omg, how long do we have to wait for the next book in this series?

Compelling, haunting fantasy where a girl struggles to help find a cure for a deadly plague even if the cost might involve evolving the forbidden practice of necromancy. Powerful scenes that are heart wrenching and sure to stay with readers long after they finish reading. My only complaint is the story ended too soon! I can't wait to read more!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
Two Worlds of Redemption (Two Worlds, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
Two Worlds of Oblivion (Two Worlds, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
" In Bed Being sick is..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Ellen Ronald Koertge has an amazing use of poetic form in the..."
 
2.0
"Reader reviewed by safia The Brimstone Journals contains poems from several different voices at a suburban high school. The..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by nikki It is a great thing to read at first i was kinda scared about what was..."
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by trsbaby Basically this book is overall captivating and exciting. Every character has a problem and records it..."
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by trs07 This book was pretty captivationg for the most part. It is mainly a book with poetry..."
 
5.0
" You don't get much more timely than this collection of poetry from Ron Koertge. And before any of you..."