Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 664
Must read for historical fantasy lovers
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Top 4 Reasons to Grab BEYOND A DARKENED SHORE immediately:

1.) Historical fantasy worldbuilding: My biggest genre weakness is historical fantasy, and I wish there was so much more of it. Beyond a Darkened Shore goes way back to ancient Ireland and incorporates Irish mythology into the magic and deity system. I love the richness of Ciara's world, the interactions between her and the goddess, and the fascinating complexities of her powers.

2.) Enemies to lovers romance: Ciara and Leif are the classic enemies to lovers romance with HEAPS of delicious tension. They become true equals and complements to the other, and no matter how doomed their relationship seemed, I couldn't help turning the pages as quickly as possible, hoping for some way out of their dilemmas.

3.) Battle scenes: When gods and mythical creatures are involved in conflict, you know the battle scenes need to be epic, and Leake absolutely delivers. The best battle scenes are grounded in high emotion, and at every step, readers are right there with Ciara and Leif knowing what is on the line if they fail. I think my heart was pounding so quickly during the final battle scene that I physically felt exhausted after reading.

4.) Voice: From the very first chapter, I knew I was hooked into Ciara's story, her love for her sisters, her disdain at her other family, and her immense desire to protect her people. She is rough around the edges, extremely brave, and at the same time, terrified of her own potential. Her character arc is tough, just as she is. The author's voice is natural and compelling.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found