Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 933
I Do Not Trust You
(Updated: November 07, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I DO NOT TRUST YOU by Laura J. Burns and Melinda Metz is a young adult thriller that follows Memphis “M” Engel all over the world as she searches for pieces of an ancient Egyptian statue. If she can find them before the cult that kidnapped her father does, she can trade them for her father’s life. Or at least she hopes. Ash, her traveling companion, is there to help, but he has his own interests, beginning and ending with an opposing cult that also wants those pieces. To defeat old and dangerous puzzles in different countries and languages, M and Ash have to work as a team. In order to do that, they need to trust each other, but M isn’t willing to risk her father’s life on Ash’s fidelity.

This book is such a rich surprise. The story is set in present day and splashed against the backdrop of many world mythologies. It is lush with knowledge and history and it ignites my own interest in folklore and other cultures. With the characters, we readers get to travel to England, France, Egypt, Thailand, Italy, India, and more, and as such, it evokes a special kind of wanderlust.

I especially love how the relationship between M and Ash evolves over the course of the book and how they have to decide if they’ll ultimately betray each other. However, I am still confused as to why they have to split up later in the book. The solution M creates when fleeing in Central America should have been an obvious solution to them in New Orleans after what they witnessed in Bali. I wish the authors had crafted a more compelling reason to separate, so it didn’t feel like such a plot device.

With that being said, I DO NOT TRUST YOU is a thrilling adventure, one that will appeal to fans of TOMB RAIDER, INDIANA JONES, and THE DA VINCI CODE.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Mouse's first day of school. It's Dinosaur's first day...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved Bangladeshi...
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From hot dogs and hamburgers to ice cream and pizza,...
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As their communities were being destroyed, groups of Jewish women...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger to...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Blast off into outer space with this mess-free sticker craft!...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...

Latest Member Reviews

Be With Me (Wait for You #2)
 
5.0
"Teresa Hamilton is a dancer. She wants to make it big. Then she has an accident and she has to..."
The Ghost Bride
 
4.7
"I have wanted to read this book since I first laid eyes on the cover in 2013. It's gorgeous and..."
The Ghost Bride
 
5.0
"The Ghost Bride, can't believe is Yangsze Choo debut novel. It so amazing, it was hard to put down. The..."
The Ghost Bride
 
5.0
"The Ghost Bride, can't believe is Yangsze Choo debut novel. It so amazing, it was hard to put down. The..."
The Ghost Bride
 
5.0
"The Ghost Bride, can't believe is Yangsze Choo debut novel. It so amazing, it was hard to put down. The..."
Be With Me (Wait for You #2)
 
4.3
"I received an ARC of this book from the publishers for participation in a blog tour and in exchange for..."
Rome (Marked Men #3)
 
3.0
"What I liked: This was the first Marked Men novel I have read and while I know I missed..."
Be With Me (Wait for You #2)
 
4.7
"Dare I say that I love Jase more than Cam? Because I do. Yes, there it is, I..."
Be With Me (Wait for You #2)
 
4.0
"I thoroughly enjoyed the first book in this series, Wait for You, so I was super excited to read the..."
Be With Me (Wait for You #2)
 
5.0
JenJen
"What I Loved: I was really excited to read this and I didn't think it was possible to love any..."
Finding It (Losing It #3)
 
3.3
"Finding It wasn’t what I expected at all. If you’ve read any of her previous books, you’d expect a light..."
Finding It (Losing It #3)
 
3.7
JenJen
"What I Liked: I have enjoyed all of the books in this series and was excited to read this one...."
The Bride Wore Size 12 (Heather Wells #5)
 
4.0
"What I Liked: Meg Cabot is, in fact, my most-read author, just narrowly edging out Janet Evanovich for that honor...."
A Little Too Far (A Little Too Far #1)
 
4.7
"And here I thought that Lisa Desrocher's Personal Demons series was steamy at times - A Little Too Far blows..."