Review Detail

Light Years Featured
Young Adult Fiction 738
Angst In Space
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Sporting a diverse ensemble cast, this book is rife with themes of team-building; and not simply setting aside differences but learning from them.

The storytelling is split between 4 third-person POVs: Vesper—the overly driven daughter of an emotionally constipated Admiral, Cormak—the hotshot orphaned identity thief (er… borrower-with-permission?), Arran—the painfully naïve underdog, and Orelia—the single-minded spy who’s been sent to destroy the Quatra Fleet Academy. The 4-way split means that readers spend around 90 pages with each character, and a sizable portion of that dedicated to the attempted development of a romance.

The prose is simple and serviceable—effectively conveying scenes without flourish. The overall pacing is leisurely. Most plot-related tension can be found in Cormak’s through line, as he finds a way off-world and spends time dodging discovery. Orelia faces a similar kind of concern, though readers will be conflicted on whether they want to see her found out. The team competitions are almost entirely simulations and don’t really elicit strain or concern for the characters. And the direness of the one potentially threatening situation is quickly quelled via a means that may strike some readers as contrived.

The romantic tensions carry through most of the story, seeming to form the majority focus. But while the three hot-first-kiss scenarios are a sensory extravaganza, the lack of relational depth and connection puts a damper on believability. (Arran at least seems to acknowledge a scarcity of emotional intimacy with his intended partner, but the awareness is quickly smothered under the character’s neediness.) I had a hard time forming much attachment to any of the characters, which made all of their aspirations, romantic or otherwise, difficult to root for.

Note: I would describe this book as ‘light sci-fi.’ We are given no idea of when it is taking place, (apparently distant enough in the future to allow for the colonizing of a different solar system) yet there has seemingly been next to no language development. 'Hooking up' is still called hooking up, and ‘screwed’ is still screwed. The only tailored exclamation I noticed was 'Anteres'...which seemed to be substituting for 'God' or 'Gods'--but there's no explanation given. (It's the name of a particular star in the constellation Scorpius, so I'm guessing that's the one their planets orbit...?) Aside from that, there’s 'Magma boar crap'—which is exactly the curse word substitute you think it is. (Although we are never shown a magma boar, and I remain vaguely curious.) And finally, there’s ‘Edgars’—the derogatory term for settlers. Although how/why an innocuous male name evolved into slang bordering on hate speech is sadly never explained. (Edgars happens to be the name of my favorite bakery, and so I had great difficulty in reconciling my superb cake fantasies with the idea of bigotry. >.> )

The majority of authentic sci-fi/futuristic worldbuilding is centered on Deva—Cormak’s poisonous gas-laden planet of origin, which we’re introduced to at the very beginning but don’t revisit aside from his personal references. (Much of his worldview is colored by his experiences on his barely-habitable home planet, and his regular comparisons actually felt the most organic of all the main characters.)

My biggest qualm?
Those chosen for the Quatra Academy are supposed to be geniuses—the top-scoring phenoms from their respective planets. But unfortunately, their intellect and acumen are far more implied than shown. Readers hoping for an Ender’s Game styled elite military academy will be sorely disappointed. Opulence, frivolity, and interpersonal pseudo-crisis are plentiful, while rules are barely enforced—giving the setting a feel that owes more to any modern high school drama than what this reader would have hoped for from the science fiction genre.

Without giving away any specific plot point, I think readers should be forewarned that this first book in the series does end on a cliffhanger. And those hoping for any satisfaction in the romantic realm will have to read on in the series.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s...
The Winter Duke
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She survived the curse. Now she must survive the throne....
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold...
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...

Latest Member Reviews

Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
"MOST LIKELY is a fantastic YA contemporary about friendship. The book starts with a woman becoming president and reflecting back..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."