Review Detail

The Cheerleaders Featured
Young Adult Fiction 1269
For fans of whodunnit mysteries
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Writing reviews for Kara Thomas’s books proved to be a great challenge for me, so I’ll try my very best to produce coherent thoughts along the way.

The story opened up with a great line. “This house was made for someone without a soul.” First line, and I was already captivated. I was really excited to read this book, because Kara Thomas never disappoints. Reading this book got me really excited as I delved into it further.

Monica’s sister, Jen, died along with a string of deaths involving people from the cheerleader team. Five years later, the school wanted to hold a memorial for the cheerleaders but for Monica, she just wanted to forget. I really enjoyed Monica’s character and personality. She definitely stood out among all Thomas’s heroines because of her driven personality. Her thoughts are raw, blunt, and honest, which sometimes lead into confrontations that make my heart burst.

I also love how this book had healthy representation of family dynamics. I mean, Monica and her family doesn’t always see toe to toe, but in general her parents have always been supportive of her, even in times of grief. This book also was one of the few books which has shown a good relationship between the heroine and her step-father. Honestly, I’d live to read more of this kinds of relationships and eventually bury the stereotype of abusive step-parents.

Monica’s friends and their relationship proved to be realistic. They had their ups and downs, especially when Monica started hanging out with Ginny, who was basically an outcast from their circle of friends. However Monica’s intention was clean and she really just wanted to keep her friends away from shady trouble as she tries to find out what really happened to her sister and the cheerleaders.

The ending was solid and it packed a punch. I was obviously dumbstruck, but as always Thomas knows how to deliver a good ending. Of course, I can’t say anything but I’ll let you know that I had to pick my jaw up from the floor.

Kara Thomas has an exceptional caliber that I’m always looking forward to when it comes to thrillers. She knows how to direct readers and maintain the suspense that will definitely send chills into everyone’s spine.

If you’re a big fan of thriller/mysteries and whodunnits in general, you should definitely check out this book!
Good Points
writing style, plot twists, pacing,
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
Two Worlds of Redemption (Two Worlds, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
Two Worlds of Oblivion (Two Worlds, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

To All The Boys I've Loved Before
 
4.0
"This is one of the very few times I will ever say this but here we go.... I preferred the..."
My True Love Gave To Me
 
4.3
"I admit that I’m not a big anthology fan. I find the stories in them are hit and miss. ‘My..."
P.S. I Still Love You
 
5.0
"all i can feel about this book is envy... this book is just written so well. it still has the..."
To All The Boys I've Loved Before
 
4.7
"i'm finally done! i read this with a very slow start which i think is becoming a routine for me...."
My True Love Gave To Me
 
4.3
"Christmas has to be one of my all-time favorite holidays. I also love short story anthologies. Put the..."
To All The Boys I've Loved Before
 
4.0
"Lara Jen Covey has a secret. She writes letters to the boys she’s crushing on, seals them, and hides them..."
To All The Boys I've Loved Before
 
5.0
"I ended up finishing it in one night. I was immediately in love with this book. To all the boys..."
To All The Boys I've Loved Before
 
3.3
" Favorite Quotes: • “I don’t have to be so afraid of good-bye, because good-bye doesn’t have..."
P.S. I Still Love You
 
4.3
"MY THOUGHTS I adored the first book! It was the perfect contemporary, but thee ending just wasn't an ending! I..."
P.S. I Still Love You
 
4.0
"Adjusting to real dating after fake dating is a harder change than both Lara Jean and Peter expected. With old..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
5.0
"I love Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian, and so when I saw this I could not contain my joy. This..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
3.7
"I love revenge stories. There’s just something so liberating about exacting your revenge upon someone who has wronged you –..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
3.0
"Why I Loved It: At the risk of being cliche, revenge has never been so sweet. I read..."
The Summer I Turned Pretty
 
4.3
"This book is another one that sat on my shelf ever since July 2012 and I wish I read it..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
2.7
"I'm sad to say I'm a little disappointed after finihing urn for Burn. With all the hype surrounding the author..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
3.7
"I decided to switch things up a bit from my normal reading this month, and try Burn for Burn ..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
4.3
"Boys are just familiar with it. Girls know it. And that's why they do it better. Three girls, three stories,..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
3.0
"Who has time for Karma to work her magic? Definitely not the leading ladies in Burn For Burn. Told in..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
2.7
" Jenny Han has always been one of my favorite authors. I often find myself reaching for her Summer series..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
4.3
"Wow. This is a pretty intense read. I mean...when I got done with the book, I sort of stared at..."