Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1148
An Epic Fantasy Adventure!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Julie Kagawa NEVER disappoints. As a fan who has been following her writing since The Iron Fey series came out, I can truly say that each new work PROVES why she is one of my top favorite authors. Shadow of the Fox  is the first installment in a new series full of epic Japanese folklore, humor, adventure, action, and some very subtle but powerful swoons. This is definitely Julie Kagawa at her best!

This book is told in Yumeko and Tatsumi's POVs (with a third minor POV). Yumeko is a half-Kitsune. This means she can shape-shift into a fox and weave illusions. She's full of innocent mischief, though the monks at the Temple where she grew up in would surely say she is nothing but trouble! I LOVED meeting Yumeko and joining her quest to deliver the part of the scroll to another temple that can protect it from those that wish to call on the Kami Dragon. Since she is forced to flee the only home she has ever known and  manages to trick a demon slayer into helping her get to the temple, Yumeko quickly proves that she is an amazing heroine as she faces head on all the danger and the unknown, despite always being in a constant state of fear of being discovered and killed because of her true form.

Honestly, Yumeko's wonder and awe in every step of the journey as she gets to meet people and different places is the perfect window to fall in love with the world along with her! It's dangerous and full of demons, yes, but also incredibly beautiful and whimsical. What I would give to visit a small village lit by Japanese lanterns once the sun sets! ? Especially if I could have perfect companions such as Yumeko and Tatsumi *swoons*. Also, what I would give to travel with Yumeko, Tatsumi, and the hilarious ronin they pick up on their way. :D The dynamics between Yumeko and Okame are one of the true highlights of this book!

However, I must also fangirl over Tatsumi since he is the brooding YA hero we all LOVE to read about! He's the demon slayer from the Shadow Clan and is in possession of the sword Kamigoroshi that holds captive a powerful godslayer, Hakaimono. To not let the demon take control over him (wth potential catastrophic consequences), Tatsumi has been raised to be cold and unfeeling, since the Demon's power feeds from emotions and can take over in an instant. Emotions are a weakness, and Tatsumi has never felt what it means to be cared of.

His character is truly complex and being inside his mind in every other chapter is fantastic. As the days go by and he spends more time with Yumeko, you can see his internal conflict as the ice shatters around his heart and mind and he fights to keep himself in control and not lose his mind to the Kamigoroshi.

As Julie Kagawa does best, she brings all of the feelings into play and she makes you swoon, laugh, and feel as if you were fighting alongside Yumeko and Tatsumi! Not to mention rooting for them to take the next step and admit their slow burning feelings for each other. ?

Final Verdict:

Action-packed with incredible world-building, danger at every corner, and with ancient magic and intriguing characters, Shadow of the Fox is THE book I have been waiting all year to devour. This is the book that my heart sings for and now cries for since the ending left me absolutely devastated and desperate for more. Julie Kagawa's books are unmatched and I'm incredibly happy for my tears to feed her muse if it means getting the sequel soon.

Undoubtedly, IN LOVE with this book.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."