Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1000
An Epic Fantasy Adventure!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Julie Kagawa NEVER disappoints. As a fan who has been following her writing since The Iron Fey series came out, I can truly say that each new work PROVES why she is one of my top favorite authors. Shadow of the Fox  is the first installment in a new series full of epic Japanese folklore, humor, adventure, action, and some very subtle but powerful swoons. This is definitely Julie Kagawa at her best!

This book is told in Yumeko and Tatsumi's POVs (with a third minor POV). Yumeko is a half-Kitsune. This means she can shape-shift into a fox and weave illusions. She's full of innocent mischief, though the monks at the Temple where she grew up in would surely say she is nothing but trouble! I LOVED meeting Yumeko and joining her quest to deliver the part of the scroll to another temple that can protect it from those that wish to call on the Kami Dragon. Since she is forced to flee the only home she has ever known and  manages to trick a demon slayer into helping her get to the temple, Yumeko quickly proves that she is an amazing heroine as she faces head on all the danger and the unknown, despite always being in a constant state of fear of being discovered and killed because of her true form.

Honestly, Yumeko's wonder and awe in every step of the journey as she gets to meet people and different places is the perfect window to fall in love with the world along with her! It's dangerous and full of demons, yes, but also incredibly beautiful and whimsical. What I would give to visit a small village lit by Japanese lanterns once the sun sets! ? Especially if I could have perfect companions such as Yumeko and Tatsumi *swoons*. Also, what I would give to travel with Yumeko, Tatsumi, and the hilarious ronin they pick up on their way. :D The dynamics between Yumeko and Okame are one of the true highlights of this book!

However, I must also fangirl over Tatsumi since he is the brooding YA hero we all LOVE to read about! He's the demon slayer from the Shadow Clan and is in possession of the sword Kamigoroshi that holds captive a powerful godslayer, Hakaimono. To not let the demon take control over him (wth potential catastrophic consequences), Tatsumi has been raised to be cold and unfeeling, since the Demon's power feeds from emotions and can take over in an instant. Emotions are a weakness, and Tatsumi has never felt what it means to be cared of.

His character is truly complex and being inside his mind in every other chapter is fantastic. As the days go by and he spends more time with Yumeko, you can see his internal conflict as the ice shatters around his heart and mind and he fights to keep himself in control and not lose his mind to the Kamigoroshi.

As Julie Kagawa does best, she brings all of the feelings into play and she makes you swoon, laugh, and feel as if you were fighting alongside Yumeko and Tatsumi! Not to mention rooting for them to take the next step and admit their slow burning feelings for each other. ?

Final Verdict:

Action-packed with incredible world-building, danger at every corner, and with ancient magic and intriguing characters, Shadow of the Fox is THE book I have been waiting all year to devour. This is the book that my heart sings for and now cries for since the ending left me absolutely devastated and desperate for more. Julie Kagawa's books are unmatched and I'm incredibly happy for my tears to feed her muse if it means getting the sequel soon.

Undoubtedly, IN LOVE with this book.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Someone to Love Me (Bluford #4)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Trinnie I think this book is pretty much saying you have to sometimes listen to the people..."
Until We Meet Again (Bluford #7)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Marah Until we Meet Again By: Anne Schraff Hakeem Darcys boyfriend..."
Someone to Love Me (Bluford #4)
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by Jazmain.S Dear Mrs.Anne Shraff I love readin your bluford high school books they are my favorite out..."
Secrets in the Shadows (Bluford #3)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by flower i love all the blueford high bookz. im suprised dat im even readin. for the..."
Matter of Trust (Bluford #2)
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by Mz.Maxie I really enjoyed this book.The reason i liked dis book is because its reality and the..."
Lost and Found (Bluford #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by babyboo This book is the best I have been through alot of this stuff. I believe..."
Matter of Trust (Bluford #2)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by nunu Darcy finally started dating hakeem and her friend from grade school,brisana always talked about hakeem and..."
Someone to Love Me (Bluford #4)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Maiya "Somebody to Love Me" is the best book i have ever read in my life!! I..."
Lost and Found (Bluford #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by zaza This book is about a girl name Darcy that has to take care of her grandmother..."
Lost and Found (Bluford #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by olyvia boooo i'm reding a book a called Lost and Found it is about a girl..."
Until We Meet Again (Bluford #7)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Kendyl all i wont to say before i tell you what i feel is i cryd about..."
Until We Meet Again (Bluford #7)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by al Until we Meet Again Is a very instersaing book it make you imagin what darcy..."