Review Detail

Broken Things Featured
Young Adult Fiction 2119
Broken Things
(Updated: September 11, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
It's been five years since the horrific murder of Summer Macks. Everyone in town thinks her friends Mia and Brynn killed her as part of a sacrifice to THE WAY INTO LOVELORN, a novel they were all obsessed over. After Brynn is released from an institution she seeks out Mia in order to find out what really happened that fateful day. Seems Summer wasn't the only one holding secrets.

What worked: Think Pretty Little Liars meets the recent news story of friends who stabbed a friend as a sacrifice to their obsession to Slender Man. Only the sacrifice here is to a fantasy world based on a novel.

I totally can see this as a Lifetime movie. It has suspense, action, and a mystery behind who really brutally killed a girl in a small town some five years old.

I really liked how Oliver uses the point of view of the surviving friends. She goes back to the time leading up to the murder to the present. There's a lot going on in the small town now. Resentments, hatreds, and scapegoating two young girls for the murder. Only nothing is what it seems.

This fast-paced novel had me on the edge of the seat. I couldn't put it down as I wanted to know who really killed Summer. I admit I was surprised at the reveal at the end. There's lots that readers glimpse behind the scenes. What secret was Summer holding? Why was she so insistent on playacting out a fantasy novel in the back woods? And finally, what really happened that fateful day?

Edge of your seat suspense, a story of two friends trying to put together the missing pieces and solve who really killed their best friend five years ago.
Good Points
1. Suspenseful thriller where two former friends go back to the horrific scene of a crime where they were convicted
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

A Few Red Drops: The Chicago Race Riot of 1919
 
5.0
"Hartfield begins her in depth look at the history of the Chicago race riots recounting the events of a simple..."
The Inexplicable Logic of my Life
 
5.0
DA Dragon Authors
"The Inexplicable Logic of My Life is a brilliant story of youth at an end, adulthood on the horizon, the..."
The Inexplicable Logic of my Life
 
5.0
"Benjamin Alire Sáenz’s newest novel is an endearing story about the different types of families and what it means to..."
Aviary Wonders Inc.
 
4.0
"This "picture book" was not quite what I was expecting. It was much more enjoyable and wondrous. This is..."
In the Forests of the Night (Goblin Wars #2)
 
4.0
"I think I love Irish mythology more than Greek mythology. It's beautiful, it really is. Teagan, Finn, Aiden, and..."
Always a Witch (Witch #2)
 
5.0
"I am such a huge fan of witches. I know I say this all the time in reviews, but seriously,..."
In the Forests of the Night (Goblin Wars #2)
 
5.0
"I fell in love with Tyger, Tyger (review here) back when I first started this blog. Kersten Hamilton approached me..."
Once A Witch
 
4.3
"I just devoured this novel from the first page, which is set in a bookstore by the way (what's not..."
Always a Witch (Witch #2)
 
4.7
"Before reading the review, be warned that this is the second in a series and you shouldn't read on unless..."
Also Known As Rowan Pohi
 
2.3
" It took me a while to get into this brief novel. Honestly, I was not amused by the antics..."
Chronal Engine
 
3.0
"When their mother gets a prestigious job on a far-flung archaeological dig, Emma, Max and Kyle have to go live..."
Once A Witch
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Yiling I LOVED this book. I first heard about it when the author, Carolyn MacCullough visited my..."