Review Detail

Meet the Sky FeaturedHot
Young Adult Fiction 3987
Hurricanes, Horses, & Harmonious Verse
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Meet the Sky is an ably-written, well-paced contemporary YA—one which is perhaps best described as a pleasantly stormy beach read.

Horse lovers rejoice, for the equestrian themes and undertones are abundant—as well as educational. Prior to this story, this reader knew absolutely nothing about the wild horses that roam the barrier islands off the coast of North Carolina. (Though Hoyle’s first book took place in the same location, this book brings the setting to life in an entirely different way.)
The weather also becomes a sort of additional character, as the nuances of riding out a severe hurricane forms an integral part of the plot. Readers who’ve never lived near hurricane-affected coastlines, or experienced a related mass-evacuation, are in for a fascinating experience.

Though this is a stand-alone, there are subtle ties to Hoyle’s 2017 debut: The Thing with Feathers. Instead of nods to Emily Dickenson, Meet the Sky weaves in threads from the works of Alfred, Lord Tennyson. Each chapter begins with a cleverly fitting quote from the famed British poet, and there is some discussion within the story itself—particularly between Sophie and her best friend. Observant previous readers may want to keep an eye out for an appearance from Emilie and her service dog, Hitch. (As it turns out, Sophie and Emilie attend the same high school.)

Sophie was a bit harder to connect with than the heroine from Hoyle’s debut. She’s bitter, pessimistic, overly judgmental, and a notable control freak. There are several justifiable reasons for this, however. (Her sister has a traumatic brain injury from a car wreck—which drove her father to first alcoholism, and then to abandon her family. Her overworked mother is barely getting by, and Sophie is burning her candle at both ends trying to compensate for all the brokenness around her. Yet at the same time, she’s still clinging to her dream of becoming a veterinarian.) Needless to say, the setup leaves plenty of room for growth in Sophie. And in terms of character development, Hoyle delivers.

The conflict with Finn sometimes felt a touch contrived.
So, the guy disappeared in the middle of Sophie’s Freshman year, leaving Sophie high and dry at a school dance (and inadvertently compounding her abandonment issues.) She’s now a high school Senior, who seems overly determined to nurse a grudge when Finn suddenly resurfaces. Finn actually has a solid excuse for his vanishing act years earlier—which doubles as justification for his devil-may-care surfer-boy attitude. But as direct as Sophie is, she doesn’t bother confronting or questioning him on the presumed offense until they’ve been thrown together in a dangerous predicament. And once they finally get that part sorted, they go their separate ways for a while—which seemed to neutralize the chemistry to some degree.

Meet the Sky presents a unique setting, a harrowing situation, and an opposites-attract romance that moves organically within the plot rather than overwhelming it. The story is one of love, loss, and reclamation—of all the things in life that are outside our control, and the attitudes that aren’t.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...

Latest Member Reviews

Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Curse of Jenny Greene
 
5.0
"I should start by saying The Curse of Jenny Greene is far from my normal genre preferences. I’m not usually..."
Emmie and the Tudor Queen
 
4.5
"This sequel resolved a lot of questions I had that weren’t answered in the first book like where did the..."
The Reclaimed Kingdom (The Syphon Series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’m a new fan of Dana Claire as I recently read “The Connection” and loved it. While I eagerly..."
Sleeping Beauty's Spindle
 
4.0
"Briar Rose hasn't had any easy life. After losing her parents, she's struggling to keep her siblings together as a..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"A sweet and perfect novella to go with this series. The Story: Four best..."
The Connection
 
4.8
"I’ll cut to the chase before I delve into a more detailed review; I loved this book! I binge-read The..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
" The Parkour Club is a rollicking good read! Bronte’s journey to find her place in the world..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try..."
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
"BORN AT DAWN is an upper YA fantasy full of adventure - the main character is half human and half..."
Born Royal
 
3.8
"As a girl, Vi suffered various forms of torture from her mom and she was the equivalent to a lab..."
The Lost Prince (The Nihryst Book 2)
 
5.0
"THE LOST PRINCE opens up where the first one left off. Ada is with Lee searching for a cure to..."
Edge of Light
 
5.0
"This book literally starts out with a bang as multiple meteorites strike cities across the earth at the same time,..."
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
5.0
"Annie lives in a small town where everyone knows everything about each other. She is usually the subject of the..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.5
"A cute story. The story: My High School Rebel Boyfriend stars a high school senior, Harper,..."
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
"Definitely a book that's worth a read. The Story: Kenna wants to be able..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"This beautiful story is highly enjoyable. The writing flows easily, and the characters feel relatable. The main conflict was interesting..."