Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 937
Read and Learn
(Updated: August 30, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Carson Mastick and Magpie "Maggi" Bokoni are two Native American high school students living on a reservation outside of Niagara Falls. Carson is a senior and has lived there his whole life; Maggi has been a City Indian for seven years, and she's not excited to start her sophomore year in a new school and on the Rez--in a house where her bedroom (shared with her older sister) is an old Airstream trailer attached to the main house by a hole cut in the wall. The only reason she and her sister Marie have a bathroom is because the Airstream has one, and they've promised to take care of it.

Carson and Maggi are alternating narrators in GIVE ME SOME TRUTH by Eric Gansworth, a novel about growing up on a reservation, dealing with racism, and being a regular teenager/coming of age in the 1980s. Their stories are entwined with those of their siblings, their cousins, their friends, their classmates, their community--and John Lennon, Yoko Ono, and (to a lesser degree) the Beatles. The book is waist-deep in family relationships and drama, but that doesn't overwhelm the focus on high school life, including some romances that feel all-too-real. Carson is very much interested in Maggi, but Maggi only has eyes for her much older, white co-worker. And Maggi's sister has a secret older boyfriend, too.

My breakdown of GIVE ME SOME TRUTH is that it has so much Truth in it, it hurts. Carson, Maggi, and the rest of the characters made me laugh, pissed me off, and made me think of my 1980s high school years in equal measure. If I were to detail the themes of the book it would make it sound like the author is all over the place, but the storylines are tight, woven together well, and the writing is great. In fact, I was so invested in the people in the book that I had to put GIVE ME SOME TRUTH down a few times and walk away for a bit because Carson, Maggi, and company were making me angry with their life choices.

A special bonus in the book is the artwork by the author. It took me longer to read than I expected, in part because I spent a lot of time staring at the art. That should have a book all its own.

Gansworth's first novel, IF I EVER GET OUT OF HERE, has the same setting, and although I haven't read it, I plan to pick it up once my heart mends from reading this one. The kids in the pages of GIVE ME SOME TRUTH have left a mark, and I hope a future book picks up their story so I know where they all end up. I'll worry about them in the meantime.

My thanks to YA Books Central and the publisher for a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.
Good Points
Great Characters
Great Writing
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Displacement
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A teenager is pulled back in time to witness her...
Wild Week
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lift the flaps to discover what goes on in the...
Finding Balance
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Jase Ellison doesnt remember having acute lymphocytic leukemia when he...
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
When Tandi rescued Tamara from her evil Vampire Queen...
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with...
Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of...
The Black Kids
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not...
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A gripping, dark LGBT YA fantasy about two girls...
Shoes aka My Life
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's Avery's senior year in high school, and she has...
Peppermint Post
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
'Twas the night before Christmas, when the North Pole's Peppermint...
Stolen from the Studio (Case Closed, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lauren Magaziner’s hilarious and high-stakes middle grade series gets a...
Pleasant Grove
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What's outside Pleasant Grove? Welcome to Pleasant...
The Wizenard Series: Season One
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Reggie has never felt destined for greatness. He dreams about...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
TURBO Racers: Escape Velocity
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fast and the Furious meets Transformers in the second...

Latest Member Reviews

Sisters of Sword and Song
 
4.3
"SISTERS OF SWORD AND SONG is an enchanting and lush YA fantasy. The story follows two sisters, Halcyon and Evadne,..."
The Falling in Love Montage
 
5.0
"THE FALLING IN LOVE MONTAGE is a beautiful YA contemporary romance that follows Saoirse (Seer-sha). Saoirse speaks to the reader..."
My Calamity Jane
 
5.0
"What worked: This is a fun paranormal twist on historical figures set in the Wild West of 1876. I loved..."
The State of Us
 
5.0
"THE STATE OF US is a really fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows the children of two political rivals. Dean's..."
The Pioneer
 
3.3
"Joanna, 'Jo', has dreamed of leaving Earth and being a pioneer on a new planet since forever. When a terrible..."
A Constellation of Roses
 
5.0
"I will admit, I went into this book knowing nothing. The cover and title caught my attention, and I'm so..."
Just a Boy and a Girl in a Little Canoe
 
4.7
"JUST A BOY AND A GIRL IN A LITTLE CANOE is a YA contemporary fiction that is primarily about character..."
All Your Twisted Secrets
 
4.7
"Perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying A delightfully twisty page-turner, fans of Karen M. McManus will..."
Clique Bait
 
4.3
"The Story: Chloe is after revenge for what happened the year before to her best friend. She blames the..."
The Upside of Falling
 
3.3
"THE UPSIDE OF FALLING is a YA contemporary romance by Wattpad author Alex Light. The story follows Becca Hart, an..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."