Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 811
Compulsively readable
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
WHAT I LOVED:

Macy is a likable, layered character and her narration flows easily. Even when my frustration mounted at how these characters refused to communicate, it was simply too darn readable to put down. Her two years of worries about how homecoming will go are both entirely reasonable for who she is and very realistic for where the story is set. As I learned when we happened to visit my small-town-Georgia-living grandparents the same weekend that the homecoming dance and game was being held, I got to see how enthusiastic local students were about it.

It also makes a strong effort in regards to representation! We’ve got plenty of characters of color, queer kids, and disabilities like multiple sclerosis and cystic fibrosis are mentioned in passing because characters’ relatives live with those diseases. Noah, one of her three love interests, is a quarter Comanche! Admittedly, that’s according to his great-grandfather and he makes no mention of having tribal membership with the Comanche Nation. White families will make stuff up like that sometimes.

Really, I like Macy too much to want her with any of her three possible love interests. Readers will figure out very, very quickly who her mystery guy is, but I’ll leave him nameless for this review.

WHAT LEFT ME WANTING:

Anyway, Mystery Kisser doesn’t deserve her. The sole reason they’re not together earlier in the book is because he keeps throwing tantrums and refusing to just talk to Macy about why he’s mad. It goes like this: she got blackout drunk, did something with him, and he treats her as though she remembers when he very well knows she doesn’t. He could clear that up with her so quickly that the scene wouldn’t even be long enough for a short story, but his refusal to talk drags the book out a long time. The handful of times he actually tries to clear it up, he takes any outside interruption as though Macy is personally insulting him when she has no control over what interrupted them.

Communication is a vital part of any romantic relationship. When you and your partner can’t or won’t communicate about either person’s problems or feelings, things are almost certain to go down in flames. Macy is too good for a guy who still acts like a child.

Further worsening the problem, almost every single conflict is the result of a misunderstanding or refusal to communicate. Macy fails to ask the right questions or the person she’s talking to completely shuts down. It’s not an unrealistic source of conflict; but it’s the only source of conflict in A Kiss in the Dark, breeding a world of frustration that might make you put down the book if you’re less than invested in Macy.

Toward the end, some of the characters are talking and they make very valid points about being openly queer in a Southern state like Georgia. That’s a pretty good reason for some of these characters to clam up: they can’t be sure the person they’re talking to is homophobic. However, I have this to say:

Don’t turn the reveal of a queer character’s sexual identity into a twist. Our identities are not a twist to shock people with.

FINAL VERDICT:

As frustrating as it is compulsively readable, A Kiss in the Dark is a difficult book to describe and recommend to someone, but it sure made me miss my home state even though I’ve always been glad we don’t live there. Just avoid the Albany area of Georgia altogether, okay?
Good Points
*Fun main character
*Noticeable attempts at representation
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
Strayborn
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...
Dark Saints Academy: The Soul Catcher
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They call me the Dark Queen… Ryleigh...
Scarred
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Life leaves you scarred. Love can make you beautiful....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....
Twisting Minds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How can you trust your heart when you can't trust...

Latest Member Reviews

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."
 
3.0
"THE STORY OF INVENTIONS is a simple, accessible introduction to some of the breakthroughs that have shaped the world across..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.5
"Milla steals an armband and an identity which could put her to death if she is found out. She takes..."
Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
A Straw Man
 
5.0
"The story: Melody, the younger sister of Charlie, the main character of the previous book, is now..."
Girl at Heart
 
5.0
"'Girl at Heart' by Kelly Oram is a sweet, entertaining, easy read that any lover of YA romance will adore...."
Kingdom Cold
 
4.8
"What I loved: First and foremost, the characters. Princess Charlotte's fierce, unyielding manner. The way her character is left..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
"One hundred years ago. When I was growing up, this seemed like an impossibly long time in the past. The..."
Scarred
 
4.8
"Emotionally, I mean. What I loved: As you can guess from the title,..."
The Path Divided
 
5.0
"I'm going to break out of my usual review mold here because this book was so many things. It..."
Girl at Heart
 
4.8
"What I loved: Just about everything. This was an adorable YA Contemporary Romance with a surprisingly well-rounded..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.3
"What I loved: The world building was perfectly illustrated without bogging down the story. Everything from the..."
Our Year in Love and Parties
 
4.0
"What I loved: The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me
 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."