Review Detail

Grim Lovelies Featured
Young Adult Fiction 2338
Grim Lovelies
(Updated: June 29, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Seventeen-year-old Anouk has never left her house in Paris and stares down at the 'Pretties'. She and others in the house have been enchanted from animals to humans by witch Mada Vittora. Anouk cleans the house while wishing she could leave. Then a tragedy hits and Anouk finds out that she and the others have only three days before the spell reverses and they become animals again. They set off in an attempt to save themselves while along the way they find betrayals and dark secrets. One thing Anouk finds is that she's destine for much more than cleaning houses.

What worked: I loved this twist on the animals in fairy tales. A Disney movie comes to mind where Cinderella's 'helpers' were in fact animals that were changed in order for her to get to the Prince's ball in time. In this darker version a witch changes animals to do her bidding. She's cruel and selfish. When she is murdered, Anouk and the other 'Beasties' find out some truths that has them escape Paris in their quest for help.

Anouk's character starts as a meek, humble servant of Mada Vittora. She looks upon her almost as a mother. She also has strong feelings for Luc, an older brother figure, who looks out for her and ends up going missing. The chauffeur, Beau, has strong feelings for Anouk and his struggles are very real. Throughout the novel Anouk's character grows and she totally arcs at the end.

There's so much to love about this fantasy. There's hints of romance, betrayals, dark secrets, magic, loyalty, mystery of who killed the witch, and determination to rise above the stigma of being a beastie.

Enchanting and captivating twist on classic fairy tales with a protagonist who finds the determination to find the strength to rise above being just a servant. Fans of Holly Black will devour this magical novel and want a sequel.
Good Points
1. Unique twist on the animals in fantasy novels
2. Paris
3. Enchanting and very engaging
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

The Key to Everything
 
4.0
"Eleven-year-old Tash has been carted off to camp against her will, and she'll be there for a month while her..."