Review Detail

Freshmen Featured
Young Adult Fiction 1279
Freshmen
(Updated: June 22, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Luke and Phoebe both attended the same high school and now are at the same university. Phoebe has had a huge crush on Luke since the eighth grade. Luke has just broken up with his long-time girlfriend Abby. Phoebe runs into Luke after the breakup and hopes her middle school fantasies will finally come true. But they find out that college has it's own dramas.

What worked: This is a very realistic portrayal of that first year at college. Though it's set in the UK, it brought up memories of my own first year away from home. The excitement, worries, drama, and yes, even that nervous fear of no one wanting to move in with you the following year rang very true to me. The authors didn't hold anything back by showing the daily roommate conflicts that deal with just getting along with strangers to the awkwardness of running into a roommate's last night guest.

I really liked how this book shows both points of view. Luke at first comes across as that 'jock', but readers see his discomfort over the 'wall of shame', where fellow soccer players post photos of girls they'd slept with and then others rate them. I only wished he'd been strong enough to walk away from the team like a fellow soccer player did when the new players were 'forced' to get drunk as part of their initiation. I do like that the writers did show that one player did walk off and stated that there were others things to do on campus.

Luke's on again off again relationship with Abby and Phoebe's confusion on her hook-ups is something that does happen. Mean-girl antics don't stay in high school either. In this case the slut-shaming the soccer players do with girls they hook up with is one topic that oft times is pushed to the side when it's a very real occurrence.

The dialogue was punchy and at time hilarious. Also the idea of 'hooking' up is handled in such a way that does show the consequences of those actions. Never preachy, which is a huge plus.

Phoebe's desire to hook up with Luke leads her to make some not too great decisions. These affect the relationships she has with her friends. Another very true portrayal of college life. The ending sets readers up to a sequel. What will happen with Phoebe? Luke? Abby?

Realistic portrayal of two teens' first year at college that shows the joy, excitement as well as the angst. Love that more books are coming out that address college life in all it's brilliance and drama.
Good Points
1. Realistic portrayal of freshmen year at college
2. Multi-layered characters
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...

Latest Member Reviews

The Other Side of Free
 
3.0
"Jem is a slave who must escape to a freed-slaves colony in Florida, after being set into the care of..."