Review Detail

Finding Audrey Featured
Young Adult Fiction 2854
lots of heart
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I think this is one of Kinsella's finest books. There is so much heart, struggle, and soul to this book. Mental illness is really difficult to capture, but I think this was a great snapshot of a young woman adjusting to her new reality and slowly growing (on a jagged graph of improvement). The story has serious moments and funny moments and moments that will just take your breath away. I was really touched by the story and the growth of a whole family making the slow path to healing after diagnosis. It is pretty light hearted overall but you get glimpses of the struggle that is so real. The book begins after diagnosis and medication/hospitalization so it isn't the darkest moments but it captures the everyday struggle. The love story is so sweet but really secondary to the family growth/love in my opinion and it just makes the book stronger. I'd highly recommend this book.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...

Latest Member Reviews

The Other Side of Free
 
3.0
"Jem is a slave who must escape to a freed-slaves colony in Florida, after being set into the care of..."