Review Detail

LIFEL1K3 Featured
Young Adult Fiction 1296
LIFEL1K3 by Jay Kristoff
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Writing:
The dialogues are mostly street slang but the book is also jazzed with something lyrical here and there.

Alliterations: “Because beneath the bravado and bluster...”, “whispering winds”, “grit and glass”

Rhymes: “dust and rust”, “stronger together, together, forever”

The ghetto talk and the poetic prose meld impeccably on the pages, creating an exquisite flavor unique to the book. Not bad for my first Jay Kristoff book.


Characters:
Eve as a main character is at the middle of my likability meter. She is a hardworker, a loyal friend and a filial grandaughter but she can only do so much with the plot given to her. Her main motive in the book is to run away from various people chasing her and at the same time, find out the truth about herself despite the fuzzy memories and the lies of some people around her. Her personality is badass but all serious-like. I like the personality of her bestfriend Lemon Fresh better. The love interest Ezekiel has the personality of a robot, as he literally is, with a boring must-protect-Eve-at-all-costs role. The villains are yet to be villainous. And who are the actual villains here? The rebelling robots? The CorpStates? Still a lot of dancing around, cat-and-mouse style, which is understandable since it’s just the first book.

Plot:
At the beginning Eve is a Domefighter which is like a gladiator fighting inside a human-operated machina with a wide live audience, betting and bookies involved. Something that happened in the WarDome and later something that Eve found in the streets made a cult and a street crew come after her armed to the teeth. And then a war-freak android comes knocking down her door hellbent on either kidnapping or murdering her. All of these lead to Eve and crew running away for the most part of the book until they accidentally get swallowed by a giant kraken under the polluted sea, where Eve experienced a lot of flashbacks. Ugh, too much flashbacks for my taste. I was actually having headaches along with Eve, true cert’. And then after that, moooore chase scenes!

The plot is in non-stop frenetic motion that it gets tired and boring after a while. I was literally droning on with absent-minded reading and was able to only jolt awake upon the climax. The book draws a lot of parallels with Pinnochio, with its characters obviously being versions of the characters in the beloved fairy tale. The book has its own surprises but if you are too familiar with the inspiration, you will almost get spoiled.

Will I read the sequel:
Yes, because I like Jay Kristoff’s writing. Plus, there are still a lot of characters that we are yet to meet in flesh (in metal?). And there is something about Lemon Fresh and the way she always touches her her five-leaf clover necklace that tells me she will have her own origin story in due time. Plus the book ended in uncertain terms on how Eve processed and handled the truth that she found out. She seemed to be allying herself with the same characters chasing her before. Hmm, interesting.

Good Points
- rich world-building
- impeccable melding of slang and poetic prose
- plot-driven, non-stop action
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

Gathering Blue (The Giver Quartet #2)
 
3.3
"MY THOUGHTS If you're expecting a sequel to The Giver, you will be very disappointed. The two books are completely..."
Gathering Blue (The Giver Quartet #2)
 
4.7
"Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry is an amazing book. I would recommend this book to kids age 11-adult because this..."
 
2.7
"This book was an easy read and I enjoyed that the events of the present were broken up by chapters..."
 
4.0
"What I Loved: The Off Season differs quite a bit from Dairy Queen. Where in Dairy Queen, the focus is..."
Dairy Queen
 
4.0
"What I Liked: Though I haven't had much chance to reread since I began blogging, it's one of my favorite..."
 
5.0
"I loved this book I really don’t know where to start with this review. Because I loved Dairy Queen (especially..."
Dairy Queen
 
4.0
"D.J. Schwenk is a “cow.” Or at least, that’s what Brian Nelson thinks, since she runs her family’s farm by..."
 
3.7
"Wildthorn is not an ideal choice for those in search of happy fun times all the way through, but definitely..."
Dairy Queen
 
5.0
"I really need to pick up the second book!"
 
5.0
"Who put me here? That is the question that Louisa Cosgrove keeps thinking of as she is held captive in..."
 
5.0
"A stunning conclusion to one of my favorite trilogies. I love that Tolkien's world is so thoroughly built. I can..."
 
4.7
"This isn't my favorite of the Lord of the Rings trilogy, mostly because it is obviously a middle book and..."
 
4.0
"Seventeen-year-old Louisa Cosgrove finds herself taken by a horse-drawn carriage to Wildthorn Hall, an asylum for the insane. She's..."
Fire Will Fall
 
4.0
"Fire Will Fall picks up where Streams of Babel left off. The Trinity Four have been isolated in a..."
Dairy Queen
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by B I was inspired to write this review because this book was recently a Jeopardy question..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Mairi Football season started well for Red Bend, as they defeated Hawley for the first time..."
Crazy Beautiful
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Yan In the back of the book the description compares this book to that of Disneys Beauty..."
Boy Toy
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Erica Boy ToyBarry LygaRelease Date: September 24, 2007Publisher: GraphiaPages: 416Rating: 4 starsFive years ago Joshs life changed...."
Ghost Huntress: The Awakening
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Lizzy It took me a while to get into this book. In fact, at first I was..."