Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 713
Fast-paced and fun!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Dare Mighty Things is an extraordinary debut that features an Indian-American asexual protagonist in the fight of her life for the slim opportunity to go to space. Heather Kaczynski’s novel is a thrilling tale of ambition, power and deadly secrets that will change the course of human history.

Dare Mighty Things was chock full of suspense and my eyes were glued to the page, frantically reading, determined to find out just what the mission was exactly about. I love stories about space and add to that a classified mission, military secrets, and a chance to travel the universe? Um, sign me up!

Kaczynski’s writing was a little elementary, but it is very easy to get swept up into the story and assimilate to her writing style. I actually believe that her straightforward writing perfectly matched the tone of the novel as the book deals with scientific fact and theories (that I assume are correct). Nevertheless, I was impressed by Kaczynski’s inclusion of these fascinating astronomical (?) theories. (Clearly, I don’t understand anything about science.)

The plot was fast paced and didn’t let up for a second. I was so intrigued by what Kaczynski has created here, and I felt as though a plot twist was coming the entire time I was reading this book. It takes skill to sustain that fear and worry in a reader, especially over the course of 300 pages. I can’t wait to read the sequel now.

I thought Cassie, the protagonist, was just amazing and such a wonderful role model. She is incredibly ambitious and will stop at nothing to secure a spot in this prestigious trip, and I’m so thankful that a character like Cassie even exists. So often, girls in YA don’t focus on the same things Cassie does: a future, a career, the chance of a lifetime. I don’t mean to bag other YA girls because many of them are badass, but so many of them also stem from fantasy books. When I think of contemporary YA girls, most of them focus on the romance aspect of their lives, and that is totally their prerogative; I just want to see a few more teen girls focus on themselves too. You don’t read many books with girls like Cassie – girls who work extremely hard to make something of themselves – and I desperately want more.

Cassie is also asexual – or at the very least relates quite strongly to asexuality – and I absolutely love that different identities are taking YA by storm. Straight white characters are no longer the norm and Kaczynski understands this. Almost all of the secondary characters are POC, including Cassie, which was fantastic to see. Cassie’s friends, Emilio and Mitsuko, were great characters – they act like Cassie’s older brother and sister and try to make Cassie feel welcome, while also reminding her of the benefits of friendship. Cassie, who has never had a friend in her life, is a little awkward, but she emerges from her shell with the help of her two friends.

Dare Mighty Things was one of the most fascinating YA books I’ve read this year. The plot was complex but engaging, the characters all geniuses but heartfelt, and the writing straightforward but works to move the plot along. Also … that ending?!?! Holy crap, I need the next book ASAP!
Good Points
Check out my blog and other reviews: thebookcorps.wordpress.com
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… ...
Moonscript
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes...
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A captivating and utterly original fairy tale about a girl...
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They have a love-hate relationship with summer. ...
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this epic sequel to Once & Future, to save...
11004295_10203571569113600_1962266189_n.jpg
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
*****Best YA Book & Author of the Year***** The...
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Being a part of the resistance group La Voz...
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
12-year-old Julia keeps a diary about her life growing...
Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more...
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Violet Choudhury may be part of the popular clique...
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this electrifying YA sequel to Beware the Night,...
Something New
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cassie Briggs never thought she’d be married at age sixteen—especially...
Crave
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
My whole world changed when I stepped inside the academy....
I Love You, Daddy (Peter Rabbit)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable rhyming Peter Rabbit book that celebrates dads everywhere....
Morning, Sunshine!
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
As we all wake up, the outside world bustles with...

Latest Member Reviews

Darkness on the Edge of Town (Stranger Things )
 
4.7
"Darkness on the Edge of Town is a fascinating glimpse into Hopper's past. Being a big fan of Hopper since..."
Stranger Things: Suspicious Minds
 
4.3
"Suspicious Minds is a prequel to the Netflix show Stranger Things. This story focuses around the Eleven's mom, Terry Ives..."
Teeth in the Mist
 
5.0
"Deliciously creepy, shocking at every turn, and unexpectedly horrific, TEETH IN THE MIST is an intense page-turner. Fitting the supernatural..."
8 Souls
 
3.0
"8 SOULS is a creepy thriller-esque fantasy that follows Francesca (Chessie), a seventeen-year-old girl whose parents are about to get..."
Daughter of the Burning City
 
3.3
"Daughter of the Burning City was nothing like what I was expecting. For some strange reason I thought it would..."
Black Bird of the Gallows
 
5.0
""Black Bird of the Gallows" is a truly unique and enthralling YA paranormal romance. Angie has had a tough life...."
Atlantis Rising
 
4.0
"“Atlantis Rising” was a surprising paranormal YA hit! I wasn’t sure if I would like it, but I ended up..."
How To Hang A Witch
 
3.7
"Original Review Located: http://www.literarychaos.com/ Being the history buff that I am, I was so excited to read this novel...."
Unblemished
 
4.0
"Keeping up with some of the special abilities was a bit tough. but an overall small shortcoming for a very..."
The Chronicle of the Three: Bloodline
 
5.0
"Zoe, the daughter of the three, isn’t just another descendant–she’s the key to humanity’s salvation. In this first installment of..."
Daughter of the Burning City
 
5.0
"Daughter of the Burning City was an enticing, mysterious and compelling novel. It tells the story of Sorina, an illusion-worker..."
Black Bird of the Gallows
 
5.0
"What a fun, exciting read! Angie had a rough life when she was growing up. Her drug addicted mom took..."
Velvet
 
5.0
"I really enjoyed Velvet! It was awesome, fun, cute, hilarious and emotional. I liked the plot and literally the..."
The Last Harvest
 
5.0
"I have always been a big fan of the horror genre. While I tend to be the type that hides..."
Unblemished
 
3.7
"A swift moving worlds-within-worlds urban fantasy, tinged with teenaged romance and insecurities aplenty. The tale is told from the..."
The Stars Never Rise
 
4.3
"What worked: This is an unique twist on the whole post-apocalyptic world only in this case the church rules with..."
Catacomb (Asylum 3)
 
4.7
"I wasn’t sure what to expect when I picked up CATACOMB by Madeleine Roux. It’s the final book of the..."
Hallowed (The Blessed #3)
 
3.0
"HALLOWED, the third book in the PRECIOUS BLOOD series, is the conclusion of the trilogy. After reading PRECIOUS BLOOD, PASSIONARIES,..."
Seriously Wicked
 
3.0
"MY THOUGHTS Cam has been raised by a witch. No, seriously. The witch is constantly trying to get Cam to..."
Dark Rising: Book Two of the Archangel Prophecies
 
4.7
"Many thanks to NetGalley, Greenleaf Book Group and River Grove Books for granting me a copy of this book. ..."