Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1840
Enchanting Read!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Everless was my first read of the year and I do indeed feel guilty for reviewing it just now. The guilt comes with the fact that this turned out to be an AMAZING read for me, and as a book reviewer, I should 130% shout into the void until my lungs hurt in order to support and make more readers fall in love with this read. However, there are times when you just cannot find it in you to review a book you love. It's so daunting to sit down and wait for amazing words to slip out of your brain and make your fingers type, right? I'm sure I'm not the only one!

I certainly don't feel that I'm ready (are we ever ready?) but I feel it's been long enough so here I am.

What I Liked:

Everless by Sara Holland will always remind me of starting the year with a bang. I remember I was HOOKED right from the start and how it kept me wanting to keep reading and ignore all my other duties. The idea that time is currency is not a new invention, but its take is certainly refreshing, especially in YA literature! I enjoyed the urgency of the novel, it made me feel stressed and constantly wondering how the main character, Jules, would manage to avoid her time slipping away, just like a lot of the characters who have the misfortune of not having enough time on their hands. Like her father.

I raged how, like in any society, some people had the upper hand in this world and obviously are rich enough to have too much time. The Gerlings (part of the royalty in this world) get to live hundreds of years while the rest of the society has to go to pawn shops and sell their blood and then convert it into iron so they can be consumed by others (diluted in tea, for example), shortening their life out of need. It's heartbreaking and although our currency is not as extreme, it certainly reflects on how our own world works (loans and debts that swallow you whole).

I must admit I was actually expecting Everless to be action-packed, but instead it focuses on the main character and in understanding the whole world. I sincerely didn't mind how it's not full of the usual action in YA (our heroine is yet to be a warrior) since being privy to her thoughts as we spend much of our time inside her head and her time inside the Gerling's Estate turned out to be pretty enjoyable for me. But worry not, action-lovers! It comes in due time and the end is enough to have you holding on to your seat!

One thing is that Jules does seem to have a slight obsession/crush with her childhood friend and one of the Gerling "Princes" and I never understood what she saw in this first crush. I disliked the interactions with this character, though I didn't mind reading about it. I was already too in love with this book! Oh, but just you wait to see how it all pans out. It did end up giving me the necessary swoons in subtle ways. ;)

Final Verdict:

To say that I'm excited for the sequel to Everless is an understatement. This stunning novel came and firmly placed itself on my shelf of favorite reads and it will take a lot for it to be bumped down. You must read it!
Good Points
Intriguing world-building!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."