Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1658
Enchanting Read!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Everless was my first read of the year and I do indeed feel guilty for reviewing it just now. The guilt comes with the fact that this turned out to be an AMAZING read for me, and as a book reviewer, I should 130% shout into the void until my lungs hurt in order to support and make more readers fall in love with this read. However, there are times when you just cannot find it in you to review a book you love. It's so daunting to sit down and wait for amazing words to slip out of your brain and make your fingers type, right? I'm sure I'm not the only one!

I certainly don't feel that I'm ready (are we ever ready?) but I feel it's been long enough so here I am.

What I Liked:

Everless by Sara Holland will always remind me of starting the year with a bang. I remember I was HOOKED right from the start and how it kept me wanting to keep reading and ignore all my other duties. The idea that time is currency is not a new invention, but its take is certainly refreshing, especially in YA literature! I enjoyed the urgency of the novel, it made me feel stressed and constantly wondering how the main character, Jules, would manage to avoid her time slipping away, just like a lot of the characters who have the misfortune of not having enough time on their hands. Like her father.

I raged how, like in any society, some people had the upper hand in this world and obviously are rich enough to have too much time. The Gerlings (part of the royalty in this world) get to live hundreds of years while the rest of the society has to go to pawn shops and sell their blood and then convert it into iron so they can be consumed by others (diluted in tea, for example), shortening their life out of need. It's heartbreaking and although our currency is not as extreme, it certainly reflects on how our own world works (loans and debts that swallow you whole).

I must admit I was actually expecting Everless to be action-packed, but instead it focuses on the main character and in understanding the whole world. I sincerely didn't mind how it's not full of the usual action in YA (our heroine is yet to be a warrior) since being privy to her thoughts as we spend much of our time inside her head and her time inside the Gerling's Estate turned out to be pretty enjoyable for me. But worry not, action-lovers! It comes in due time and the end is enough to have you holding on to your seat!

One thing is that Jules does seem to have a slight obsession/crush with her childhood friend and one of the Gerling "Princes" and I never understood what she saw in this first crush. I disliked the interactions with this character, though I didn't mind reading about it. I was already too in love with this book! Oh, but just you wait to see how it all pans out. It did end up giving me the necessary swoons in subtle ways. ;)

Final Verdict:

To say that I'm excited for the sequel to Everless is an understatement. This stunning novel came and firmly placed itself on my shelf of favorite reads and it will take a lot for it to be bumped down. You must read it!
Good Points
Intriguing world-building!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
"UNRAVEL THE DUSK is an enchanting sequel and finale to a unique YA fantasy. Maia is a tailor who dreamed..."